jump to navigation

3BY2: Quarterly Report July 1, 2014

Posted by indigobunting in Uncategorized.
trackback

Eastern phoebe, common merganser, song sparrow, wood duck, common loon, common eider, osprey, black-backed gull, double-crested cormorant, northern flicker, chimney swift, rose-breasted grosbeak, tree swallow, yellow-bellied sapsucker, barn swallow, indigo bunting, Baltimore oriole, warbling vireo, yellow-throated vireo, ovenbird, eastern towhee, gray catbird, yellow warbler, American redstart, field sparrow, chipping sparrow, white-throated sparrow, black-billed magpie, pinyon jay, ash-throated flycatcher, black-throated sparrow, violet-green swallow, lark sparrow, blue-gray gnatcatcher, lazuli bunting, black-headed grosbeak, Eurasian collared dove, white-crowned sparrow, Bullock’s oriole, spotted towhee, juniper titmouse, yellow-rumped warbler, western kingbird, bank swallow, Wilson’s warbler, black-chinned hummingbird, spotted sandpiper, white-throated swift, green towhee, brown-headed cowbird, western meadowlark, common yellowthroat, brown thrasher, bobolink, veery, hermit thrush, killdeer, eastern meadowlark, ruby-throated hummingbird, wood thrush, black and white warbler, eastern wood peewee, house wren, green heron, cedar waxwing, prairie warbler, northern waterthrush, ruffed grouse. (Bringing 2014 total thus far to 108. 2012: 102. 2013: 162.)

I admit to being a lazy birder. It’s like I’m barely trying. Our biggest day since March was adding a dozen species on an early-May walk on the rail trail. We added two dozen on our Utah trip, which is pretty good, I guess, but pales in comparison with Arizona’s 73 (of course, we’d hired a guide).

I can’t believe I haven’t seen a scarlet tanager yet. My neighbor across the street took a photo of one in her yard, for cryin’ out loud!

 

Comments»

1. Mali - July 1, 2014

I don’t think you should beat yourself up. Instead, you should compare yourself to me, who can name maybe three different species of birds I see in my garden, and pat yourself on the back What an impressive list!

2. Eulalia Benejam Cobb - July 2, 2014

If you’re a lazy birder, I can’t imagine what a diligent one is like.

3. Dona - July 24, 2014

You are much better than I am anymore at identifying birds. I saw an indigo bunting a couple of weeks ago on a trip with some other folks (not birders). They shouted, “BLUEBIRD!” and I just assumed they were right, although I thought it looked odd for a bluebird. I realized later what it was…

indigobunting - July 27, 2014

Oh, you lucky Cedar Waxwing!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

