jump to navigation

Adventures in Portland: Landed Immigrant May 15, 2008

Posted by indigobunting in Uncategorized.
trackback

A couple of days ago, Tim left for another long business stay in Portland. I couldn’t go along this time—too many social engagements and my own business trip next week. Needless to say, I’m up to my old tricks in his absence.

Here’s a story from last month’s trip that illustrates how much time Tim spends there. Each late afternoon, a plate of warm cookies appears on the hotel’s front desk. On our way out one evening, Tim went to grab one. “Hey!” said the oh-so-familiar front desk agent. “Those are for guests!”

Comments»

1. Bridgett - May 15, 2008

Say it isn’t so! Just say no to microwaved coffee!

2. indigobunting - May 15, 2008

Hey, I brew it first.

3. Cedar Waxwing - May 15, 2008

Was the desk agent serious or kidding around?

4. Craig (Maito Sewa Yoleme) - May 15, 2008

Great cookie story.

But all stories about cookies are great, I think.

I want a cookie. Can I have a cookie?

5. indigo bunting - May 16, 2008

CW: Totally kidding. But Tim’s up to about three months a year there.

CMSY: You may be right about all cookie stories being great. Yes, have a cookie. I wish I had a cookie. Of course, when Tim called last night and told me about his latest amazing dinner out, I wanted a lot more than a cookie.

6. Craig (Maito Sewa Yoleme) - May 16, 2008

When you say, “I wanted a lot more than a cookie,” is that code for something smutty, or code for fine dining?

7. indigo bunting - May 16, 2008

I love ambiguity.

8. bettyslocombe - May 17, 2008

when you say ‘fine dining’ is that code for something smutty,or…….Kate rings from Varuna and tells me, gleefully, about the amazing puddings the cook provides every night.

9. indigobunting - May 19, 2008

Mrs S: Both notes get a smile…

10. Helen - May 19, 2008

How great to feel so at home in a hotel. Does Tim wonder around the lobby in his pajamas?

11. JHK - May 20, 2008

Sometimes I microwave the coffee too (and that’s not code for anything, I swear!).

12. indigobunting - May 23, 2008

Helen: I wonder if he did if he’d no longer be welcome.

JHK: Thank goodness someone else will admit to doing this.


Leave a Reply

