jump to navigation

Mrs. Slocombe Bestows the Arte y Pico Award Upon Route 153 September 21, 2008

Posted by indigobunting in Uncategorized.
trackback

Last week, I became one of Mrs. Slocombe’s five honorees for the Arte y Pico Award. Isn’t it pretty?

The award is given for a blog’s “creativity, design, interesting material,” and one that “also contributes to the blogger community, no matter what language.” I blush in your general direction, Mrs. S. And I thank you.

The most exciting part was traveling to Australia to attend the slinky ceremonies and pick up my tiara, gently placed atop my head by Mrs. Slocombe h’self. One may think my tears were simply a part of award gestalt, but I can assure you, I am touched by this, and Mrs. Slocombe’s words:

Route 153: Indigo Bunting: always generous, interested and interesting, writing from what sounds like a beautiful birdland. She’s also one of the people who’s actually finished a 365, so an inspiration to me.

Once awarded, the awardee can go on to bestow the award on others. Here’s how it works:

[y las reglas:]

1. Pick five blogs that you consider deserve this award for creativity, design, interesting material, and also contribute to the blogger community, no matter what language.
2. Each award has to have the name of the author and also a link to his or her blog to be visited by everyone.
3. Each of the award-winning has to show the award and put the name and link to the blog that has given her or him the award itself.
4. Award winner and the one who has given the prize have to show the link of Arte y pico blog, so everyone will know the origin of this award.
5. To show these rules.

Before I bestow my own awards, I want everyone to know that of course, if I read you, I believe you deserve an award. Your blog means something to me. You are part of what I must have in my life.

That said, five were to be chosen, and here are those five:

1. Sewa Yoleme’s September Songs: Admittedly, this blog was alive for only one month: September 2007. When Sewa Yoleme joined the Dancing About Architecture project—a song a day project—he committed for exactly thirty days. And what a thirty days it was. This blog is like walking into a classroom of musical history and culture. Check it out. While you’re at it, check out his current blog.

2. Cedar Waxwing’s Snapshots of My Life: She actually transcribes her teenage diaries into a blog. I find CW fascinating on so many levels, not the least of which includes the fact that we’ve both lived in the DC metropolitan area, Pennsylvania, and Elgin, Illinois (she grew up there; I lived there for one year). Believe me when I tell you I do not have the cojones to let people take a look at my diaries. She gets the award for having the cojones, but usually, I read her with much joy here.

3. Mali’s Travelalphablog: This woman has lived an fascinating life and traveled to incredible places for both work and pleasure. I love following her through time and the world.

4. Bridgett’s Alphabridge: It’s where I read her now, although I should be trying to keep up with her South City Musings blog as well. Bridgett’s the gal who came right along with me from 365 to Dancing About Architecture to alphablogging. She is the only person to have completed the Dancing About Architecture project (kudos!). Bridgett has a way of bringing me into her world and making me feel it—yes, suddenly a world that is so very different from mine feels like my very own. Some of her last lines punch me in the gut. In a way that somehow keeps me coming back for more.

5. Deloney’s The Danforth: This is where I go for comfort and sustenance. I could hang out in this virtual apartment forever. Something about Deloney’s writing is warmth against the cold for me.

There it is. Bestowees, enjoy your awards, and if you’re so inclined, go and bestow upon others.

Comments»

1. Cedar Waxwing - September 21, 2008

Heh — CW had to look up cojones. CW is honored.

2. Craig (Maito Sewa Yoleme) - September 21, 2008

I am delighted. I am shocked. I am verklempt. I am…

Wait. The original award was given by its creator to people who crocheted fruit and undergarments and crustaceans.

The mind boggles.

Thank you. Can we go to Stockholm for the award presentation? And what is the cash value of the award?

3. Deloney - September 21, 2008

Thanks, Indigo. You’re a pip.

4. Bridgett - September 21, 2008

Well, yay! I’ve never received an important blog award (I always miss out on the mommy blogs for some reason…well, for many reasons).

5. Adam Byrn Tritt - September 22, 2008

I never could get the hang of crocheting. And a Jew can’t crochet shellfish. It’s treif.

(Oh, and congratulations.)

6. Mali - September 22, 2008

Wow. I am honoured to be included in such distinguished company, and honoured too to have you as a fellow traveller on the web.


Leave a Reply

