jump to navigation

Cold October 3, 2008

Posted by indigobunting in Uncategorized.
trackback

At night, stripping down for bed, I’m noticing: It’s cold.

Is it too early to switch to flannel sheets? I ask myself. Or can I get away with another week o’ jersey?

I fight it. I want to wait til mid-October to turn on the heat. I always cheat (she types, huddled next to her electric space heater).

After lights out last night, my thoughts went something like this: It’s cold. How could it be cold already? OK, I guess it is October. It’s October 2. Hey, it’s my nephew’s 18th birthday. I wonder if he’ll like that Flight of the Conchords DVD I sent? Or will he think it’s totally stupid? Only five months til my birthday. When it will still be cold. What about April 2, six months? It will still be cold. How about May 2, seven months? Well, it depends. Remember the Mother’s Day snow that one year?

Six months of cold. I haven’t switched out my closets yet. My dresser is still filled with spaghetti-strap tanks and capris. My head is obviously buried deep in some warm sandy beach somewhere.

There is an entire huge country north of here. Deloney, Helen, and Maureen (Are you there, Maureen?): Speak to me of cold. Remind me of how it can showcase some of life’s warmer things. Remind me that cross-country skiing makes me happy to be alive.

Comments»

1. Cedar Waxwing - October 3, 2008

I hate cold. It’s been chilly down here too. I had to add an extra blanket to the bed, and since Dean stole it from me a few times last night — it *must* be chilly.

I cheated yesterday and turned on the heat in my office. For a couple of hours.

2. Adam Byrn Tritt - October 3, 2008

There is something about folks in cold weather that leaves me jealous. The joy of piling on and snuggling up.

This week it got cool enough, dry enough, that, as night falls, we can turn off the air conditioner, pull the blinds, open the window, put a thin blanket over the sheet. Cool enough we won’t lie naked under the ceiling fan for respite from the day. It is cool enough the reading lamp upon the nightstand does not make us sweat. It is cool enough my ribs don’t hurt from my wife nudging me over, and over and over until my nose nuzzles the bibliopile always next to my bed. Cool enough, soon, she’ll be tugging me closer instead.

I love winter.

3. She She - October 3, 2008

We try to hold out until Nov. 1st before we turn on our heat. We have lots of blankets, fleece jammies, hot chocolate, warm apple cake, and days spent outside the house to help us get there.

4. Helen - October 3, 2008

Winter gives one an excuse to indulge in all sorts of caloric extravaganzas, to manufacture the blubber one needs to survive a Canadian winter.

5. indigobunting - October 3, 2008

Yes, yes, yes, you are all helping! CW is commiserating, fellow Vermonter She She is totally cheering me on as well as—along with Adam and Helen—reminding me of all things cuddly and blubbery and indulgent. Mmmmm…winter. (I wish I didn’t have the cold-hands-and-feet thing going so much, though.)

Time to get outside—well, to the car, anyway—and get some sun on my way to work, etc…

6. Craig (Maito Sewa Yoleme) - October 3, 2008

I hate reading these posts, I really do. They fill me with such longing, and makes me snarly whenever I leave the house. Cooler in Florida is by no means the same thing as cool—for that we need to wait until mid-December. I want to wear slippers and flannel shirts again. I want to go to Hick’s Orchard, and huddle over hot cinnamon cider and eat fresh, hot cider donuts at the picnic table, watching the goats frolic. I want to go leaf-peeping in my own neighborhood, and watch the horses’ coats become thick and shaggy before the first snowfall. I want to wear gloves as I push my grocery cart back to the car, and watch for deer standing in the road when I drive home after dark.

7. rossakatum - October 3, 2008

I’m a wuss, I suppose. I turned the heat on last night, and I’m quite a bit further south than you. It’s just so cozy to step inside from the chilly evenings into your own toasty, warm home.

I lived in Florida for a while, and then in Hawaii. I can say from experience that an 80 degree Christmas doesn’t really feel like Christmas at all, for me at least. Bring on the snow, the gloves, scratchy wool scarves, gathering around the stove to cook the slow, rich dishes that just can’t be tolerated in the summer heat… the scent of balsam fir and peppermint candy canes, decorating the tree with family all around, quiet winter nights alone with a book and a cup of hot cocoa… so many happy (and warm!) memories in these cold months.

8. Bridgett - October 4, 2008

We’re going to try to hold out as long as we can with the heat–now, keep in mind we’re a humid little cozy river valley in the midwest. Never a blizzard, never as cold as the prairie. But last winter was long and cold and snowy. I brace for this once, but so far, it’s beautiful fall and windows open at night with the fans. In the summer I curse St. Louis, but she gives us a nice fall.

9. indigo bunting - October 5, 2008

Craig and Rossakatum: Oh yes. You’re making me happy. Craig, I haven’t been to Hicks yet, although my dear next-door neighbor picked up a half-gallon of cider for me. I have hopes of getting there today, crowds be damned!

Bridgett: Welcome back! I’m still trying to hold out, although yesterday in-laws were visiting so I had to turn the heat on for them. Looking forward to checking out your blog decisions…

10. Bridgett - October 5, 2008

Well, it’s up now. http://conlocutio.blogspot.com

11. Mali - October 6, 2008

I love autumn. The closing in of the nights. The first hot comfort food of the season – usually Hot Cross Buns at Easter, followed by chocolate easter eggs and somewhere over the weekend lots of good red wine. There’s a lot to be said for cold weather, hunkering down, spending time with loved ones, a warm cat on my lap (or tonight, two cats on my lap). But the best thing about the cold weather, after several months of course, is the coming of spring, shedding all those layers (of clothing – sigh, the other sort aren’t so easy to shed), the sound of the tuis and the brighter sun, a birthday and the slide through to Christmas and the all too short summer.

12. indigo bunting - October 6, 2008

Mali: I love having friends on the other side of the world, thinking of them experiencing common holidays in opposite seasons.

13. Susan - October 8, 2008

I told my son today that there are still things I like about winter: pots of soup, the coverage of winter clothes, the enforced respite from outdoor chores. And Christmas. But I still hate the cold. I have Raynaud’s, and that’s a problem in the winter. More and more, so are the heating bills. I just ordered a small heater for under my desk. I’m gonna huddle.

14. indigobunting - October 9, 2008

Susan: We have Raynaud’s and heating bills in common, although clearly, my Raynaud’s is not as bad as yours is…yet. My space heater has been on by my feet a great deal, until I realize that I should deal with this a more economic way (which perhaps I’ll blog about if I ever get my act together). I wish you well in the cold season!

15. Eulalia (Lali) Benejam Cobb - October 10, 2008

Remember, cold weather is what keeps Vermont relatively unspoiled! During the cold spell last week we too refused to turn on the heat (though we did fire up the wood stove). It’s turning into a north country game of chicken–how cold does it have to get before we use a single drop of heating oil?
Meanwhile, I’m planning to attend the Dorset rummage sale and buy a number of thick men’s sweaters that will fit over my regular winter clothes. I’m trying to talk Ed into keeping the thermostat at 65 this winter, as a political/environmental/spiritual and of course economic gesture.


Leave a Reply

