jump to navigation

My Bloggy Valentine February 17, 2009

Posted by indigobunting in Uncategorized.
trackback

I’m not really into Valentine’s Day. I’m not necessarily against it; I just don’t care. There are people who send me a Valentine almost every year: Gordon, Sarah, Sue. I admit that I am touched by this. (Of course, I cherish Gordon’s Valentine the most, because I have a big fat crush on him. We are destined never to meet, however.)

Tim and I spent this past Valentine’s Day, Saturday, at a memorial service. I won’t go into detail other than to say that the three-hour gathering/party/memorial was the perfect tribute to our friend’s life. He was a serious sportsman, and near the end of the gathering, some of his ashes, now filling shotgun shells, were fired in gun salute.

Afterward, Tim and I headed home. We were both physically ailing a bit: me recovering from my neck going out, him with a bad head cold. We spent the rest of the day laying low, catching up on some video/DVD stuff.

But that evening I noticed on Tim’s dresser—where it lives—a Valentine I had sent him three years ago.

Like I said, I’m not a Valentine’s person. But in late January 2006, my friend Christine hosted a mail-art party. A bunch of women got together, got out the scissors and glue, and made some mail art. Christine suggested that it be posted from the upcoming Woodchuck Festival, as the post office would be there with a festival-themed cancellation stamp. I don’t remember if Valentine’s Day was an intentional focus of the mail-art party or if that evolved naturally given the time of year. But I made Tim a Valentine and left it with Christine, who took everyone’s mail art and delivered it to the festival’s postmistress.

Here is my Valentine to Tim, front and back (with the address Photoshopped out). Note the cancellation.

valentine-front-low-res

valentine-back-low-res

What happened to me as a result of that Valentine was this: I became a blogger.

In the course of the obvious constant chattering at such a gathering, Christine mentioned her latest creative endeavor: A fellow mail-art friend, for his 40th birthday, was beginning a blog project called 365. Every day for a year, he would write a 40-word portrait of someone. He was looking for others to join in. Christine was on board.

This caught my attention. At that moment in time, it sounded like something I wanted to try. Christine encouraged me and taught me how to set up a blog. On February 1, taking the age/word-count cue and being on the cusp of a birthday, I posted my first 44-word portrait.

And here we are. A lot of folks on my blogroll are 365 alums. My cybercommunity.

When I look at this Valentine, I think of Tim. But I also think of Christine, and that party, and you. A belated Happy Valentine’s Day to all my cybersweeties.

Comments»

1. Alesia - February 17, 2009

I’m so glad you went to that party. And I’m so glad I met you.

2. Cedar Waxwing - February 17, 2009

I’m glad you went to that party too.

3. Lynda - February 17, 2009

I am almost ready for you to teach me how to blog, the way that Christine taught you. Key word: almost.

4. Eulalia (Lali) Benejam Cobb - February 17, 2009

An angel from heaven, that Christine! If not for her, if not for you, I’d be in blogger’s nadir. You’ve been both mentor and inspiration. Love in both 2- and 3-D.

5. Helen - February 17, 2009

I’m so glad you’re a party girl…

6. bridgett - February 18, 2009

I remember you were the first commenter on my 365, long before I shared the url with anyone (I was on the blogroll though). I could always count on having at least one reader back then…

I’m not a valentines person either. Kind of wary of holidays that congratulate you for having a good life already.

7. Deloney - February 18, 2009

Indigo fights for the right to party.

8. indigo bunting - February 18, 2009

I may not go to a lot of parties, but sometimes I go to the right ones.

(Lynda, just let me know. I’ll see if I can remember how to set one up!)

9. bettyslocombe - February 19, 2009

You also encouraged me at an early stage, before the slocombe metamorphosis…..thanksmfriugfer sorry my fingers are a bit sticky.
Personally I love holidays that congratulate me for having a good life already: they are almost as good as the one we have for a horse race!

10. Mali - February 20, 2009

IB I think you are single handedly responsible for the unity of our little blogger group, because you encouraged so many of us at the early stage. You’re our glue.

Thanks to Christine for inviting that party then talking about the x365. And you for going.

11. Adam Byrn Tritt - February 20, 2009

Then this is yet one more thing I have to thank art for.

As for Valentine’s Day, my wife and I used to sell roses.

“What would you like to do for Valentine’s Day dear?”

“Not sell roses.”

I am only too happy to please.

This year I was delighted to sit and watch her hammerwack seaspiders into pasty-goodness and, covered in greeengoo, eat the meatmash. I ate frogs.

Then a walk on the beach.

Not a rose in sight.

12. indigo bunting - February 21, 2009

Sigh. I love you guys.

And Adam, you and your adventures never cease to amaze.


Leave a Reply

