jump to navigation

Tim’s List February 27, 2009

Posted by indigobunting in Uncategorized.
trackback

Earlier this week, Tim offered to take the day off next Monday to celebrate my birthday. This took me by surprise. I hadn’t considered taking the day off. He told me to start thinking about what I wanted to do.

What I really want to do is go cross-country skiing at Wild Wings, a touring center about an hour from here. That’s what I wanted to do last year, too, but it didn’t happen. Somehow I haven’t gotten to ski there in a few years.

But now it’s suddenly 50-something degrees F, and a rainstorm is blowing in. It hasn’t started yet, but the only full-fledged traffic lights I ever see (you locals know the ones—at the intersection of Routes 22 and 149) were swaying as I made my way home from the gym. This does not bode well for good x-country skiing conditions. So, what do I want to do for my birthday?

What, indeed? I have been so focused on this one thing that it’s hard for me to think about something else I might want to do. In the middle of nowhere. On a Monday. The day that most places-about-the-fun close up if they are going to close at all.

I wasn’t coming up with anything. Granted, I was busy with work and not putting a lot of thought into it. But it disturbed me how unimaginative I seemed to be. A line from a They Might Be Giants song raced menacingly through my mind: “Now it’s over I’m dead and I haven’t done anything that I want, or I’m still alive and there’s nothing I want to do.”

We already have a Saturday-night plan. Our friend Paul has been trying for more than a year to find a date to cook dinner for us and our next-door neighbors. Finding a date that works for everyone (and on which a sitter can be found) is not easy. Weeks ago, we finally came up with this Saturday. Paul’s coming over and cooking us all curry shrimp. Mmmmmm.

But that left possible time on a lot of Saturday, all day Sunday, and Monday.

Of course, as soon as Tim began thinking that he might take Monday off, several important meetings were scheduled. Idea abandoned. We’re back to the weekend.

So last night I met Tim for sushi and beer before we headed to a Tony Hoagland reading. Tim was already at the bar, and when I finally decided on which beer, he presented me with a steno pad on which he’d made a list of things we could do this weekend.

Ideas for Saturday a.m. or Sunday

  1. Ski/snowshoe Merck Forest
  2. Empire Wine/Chez Sophie [an impressive discount wine store and a Saratoga restaurant]
  3. Horned lark expedition—check sightings on Web and go
  4. Rutland: movie and Table 24 [another fine dining establishment]
  5. Cook dinner; Twister party? [he did not recall that we don’t actually own Twister]
  6. Wine-tasting party, vertical or horizontal, potluck apps and a big pot of soup
  7. Ice-skating party with friends, dinner out
  8. Snowshoe at Sterling Farms [snowshoeing still on the table because one doesn’t need the same great conditions]
  9. Saratoga spa?
  10. Mass MoCA or Clark [art museums, and I’m embarrassed to say I still have never been to Mass MoCA]
  11. Visit to hat shop to fine-tune final design [we’re working with a milliner]
  12. Make list of art to be framed [I always want rogue art framed as a gift]
  13. Treasure hunt
  14. Get tattoos and dye Indigo’s hair jet black [this after a discussion with certain friends in a certain bar last week]
  15. 100th visit to the gym! [this is within reach]

I love this list, and I love that Tim made this list. I still don’t exactly what I’m going to do for my birthday. But I have options. A good time will be had.

Comments»

1. Helen - February 27, 2009

Are these in order of preference?

2. damyantig - February 27, 2009

Happy Birthday in advance, Indigo! 🙂

Hope you’ll have a smashing day and then (hopefully) write all about it!

3. Joya - February 27, 2009

I vote for the tattoo. Hope you have a terrific birthday!

4. Cedar Waxwing - February 27, 2009

Tim’s great! You’re a lucky bird.

5. Craig (Maito Sewa Yoleme) - February 28, 2009

I had dinner at Chez Sophie with Satan. The food was great, but of course I’d rather burn the place to the ground than set foot in there again.

I’m intrigued by #6’s “vertical or horizontal.” Does that describe the condition of the tasters after they’ve drunk their fill of the wine?

I can see you in a cloche hat. You’d be a fabulous flapper, especially with black hair and tats, though I think you should go with a henna design first instead of permanent ink in case you change your mind. Maybe some kohl around the eyes.

6. Mali - March 1, 2009

I am so impressed with Tim, and will be reading this to my husband as a very unsubtle hint.

#5. Perhaps he was thinking of a 2 person twister party where you didn’t NEED the game??????

I also vote for #14, though personally would opt for #2,4,6,9 or 10

7. Helen - March 2, 2009

HAPPY BIRTHDAY INDIGO!!! Don’t hurt yourself (if you opt for Twister, skating, tattooing or a horned lark expedition (they can be ornery if they know someone is watching)). I vote for 8, followed by 9, then a quick trip to 11, and ending with 2, 4, 5 or 6.

8. Lynda - March 2, 2009

I have Twister and I am more than willing to lend it out for a certain birthday girl and her endlessly romantic hubby. Of course, it’s more fun with multiple people and an old vine zin…

Jet black would look fabulous on you! I have often thought of doing the same.

I, too, am curious about #6 and would like to join you either way!

Happy, Happy Birthday!!

9. indigo bunting - March 2, 2009

I will follow up on all this later, but I would like to announce that I am now the proud owner of Twister, thanks to one sweet Sewa Yoleme.

10. Eulalia (Lali) - March 2, 2009

Bravo for Tim–so creative! So attentive! And congrats on the gym thing.


Leave a Reply

