jump to navigation

Briefly Noted June 17, 2009

Posted by indigobunting in Uncategorized.
trackback

I’m back, I’m back on Route 153 after nearly a week away in Pennsylvania, back in my own bed, back at my fabulous gym, back to the piles of work that loom high above me. Back to the rose-breasted grosbeaks who hang out at my feeder. Back home.

That said, I had a great trip. I visited friends and places I hadn’t seen in 8 years. I met people who weren’t even born last time I visited. I marveled at what great parents my friends have turned out to be and how happy they appear, at least from where I’m standing. Being with them reminded me of why I first loved them, and it turns out I love them still.

And I attended a 25-year college reunion. For someone who lived her school years as an introverted outsider, I sure do manage to have a good time at reunions. It’s puzzling.

Maybe someday I’ll write something about this trip. But I need to get to work pronto. So this post is to briefly and sadly note the passing of two of my favorite things in my old college town: Grubb’s Diner, where I ate many a meal and had many a piece of pie and where now stands a Rite Aid; and the DEAD END sign at the bottom of the hill that led to the cemetery, which has been replaced with one that says NO OUTLET. A similar sentiment, to be sure, but not nearly so graphic. Requiescant in pace.

Comments»

1. helen - June 17, 2009

I’m surprised someone didn’t protest the replacement of the dead end sign. That is so good. Maybe someone can spray paint “for the living or otherwise” on the new sign.

And I still can’t imagine you as an introvert, what with all your bar-hopping and croquettish ways.

2. bridgett - June 18, 2009

Dead end is much better than No Outlet. No Outlet actually seems more hopeless somehow.

3. Dona Patrick - June 18, 2009

We rarely see “dead end” signs around here — mostly just “no outlet” and in the more uppity neighborhoods, “cul-de-sac”. Here’s what Wikipedia has to say about it:

Glad you’re back.

4. indigobunting - June 18, 2009

Helen: Perhaps I’d have been less introverted had I started bar-hopping at age 8. Or at least 14! A much more recent development. (I like your sign addition.)

Bridgett: And I see your point.

5. indigobunting - June 18, 2009

Hey, CW, we posted at the same time. Looks like wiki link didn’t come through…

6. Cedar Waxwing - June 18, 2009

Heh, I meant to take that last sentence out. Didn’t post a link.


Leave a Reply

