jump to navigation

Green Mountain Envy September 13, 2009

Posted by indigobunting in Uncategorized.
trackback

(an e-mail in response to Vermont Public Radio’s e-newsletter)

Dear Michelle:

Often when I receive the VPR prEview, I am working at my desk, editing medical or angling copy, and I find myself envious of whatever outdoor adventure you’ve been on of late. But I’ve never been so envious as I was when I read your September 9 introduction, in which you announce your competitive debut in the Green Mountain Derby Dames’ home opener bout under the name Susan Slamberg.

I didn’t even know roller derby had made it to Vermont.

For several years, thanks to being able to pack up my office and accompany my husband on regular business trips to Portland, Maine, and thanks to his working there with the now-retired Goldie Headlocks, I have, whenever possible, whenever the skating gods put me in town at the right time, been attending the Port Authorities’ bouts and, more recently, the Calamity Janes’.

As someone traumatized by gym class and team sports in the ’70s (but who has been a workout addict for 25 years), I can report that attendance at my first bout marked the first time that I ever watched a sport and felt a visceral “I wish I was out there.” If only I were 15 years younger and living near leagues…

Last summer I read the good-enough-I-guess book Derby Girl in preparation for what I expect to be the much-better movie, Whip It, which I hope does not take too long after its release to get to a Vermont screen near-enough to me.

This morning I can’t find a score for last night’s bout. I hope it was a great time, no matter the outcome. I’m a couple of hours away from the Champlain Valley Expo (I’m a couple of hours away, it seems, from everything), but who knows? Maybe one of these days I’ll make it to the stands.

Good luck.

Indigo Bunting (aka Bella Coast)

Comments»

1. Craig (Maito Sewa Yoleme) - September 13, 2009

I assume you’ve seen both the trailer and the featurette?
http://www.apple.com/trailers/fox_searchlight/whipit/

2. helen - September 13, 2009

Harleys, the roller derby, croquet… you’re a wild one.

3. LisaS - September 13, 2009

my hairstylist has been trying to recruit me for the local roller derby for years now, ever since she found out i was a speed skater in my early teens.

i prefer to keep my kneecaps intact.

indigo bunting - September 15, 2009

I understand, but I’d love to see you skate. Speed skater, eh? Impressive.

4. Michelle - September 15, 2009

Indigo! Michelle/Susan Slamberg here! I just stumbled upon your blog post thanks to Google Alerts, but I did not receive your email reply! Well, in any case glad I found you.

GMDD won on Saturday, 118-70. I think it might be the most fun I’ve ever had in my life, but don’t tell that to my legs and hip flexors, which are still sore today and have to scrimmage tonight! Our next home bout is October 10, and we have another on November 7. I hope you can make it!

indigo bunting - September 15, 2009

Michelle: Yay for Google alerts! I hit “reply” on the newsletter and your name came up, so I figured it might get to you…guess I figured wrong. Congratulations on the win and the great time, and thanks for the dates! One never knows… I hope something will work out. Maybe I’ll become a Facebook fan to get updates.

5. Cedar Waxwing - September 15, 2009

Of course, IB, you were the very first thing I thought about when I saw the trailer for Whip It at the movies a few weeks ago. I’ll have to go see the film to understand your point of view.

6. Eulalia (Lali) Benejam Cobb - September 22, 2009

A couple of hours from everything…how well you put it!


Leave a Reply

