jump to navigation

xxx October 11, 2009

Posted by indigobunting in Uncategorized.
trackback

Love is not all: it is not meat nor drink
Nor slumber nor a roof against the rain;
Nor yet a floating spar to men that sink
And rise and sink and rise and sink again;
Love can not fill the thickened lung with breath,
Nor clean the blood, nor set the fractured bone;
Yet many a man is making friends with death
Even as I speak, for lack of love alone.
It well may be that in a difficult hour,
Pinned down by pain and moaning for release,
Or nagged by want past resolution’s power,
I might be driven to sell your love for peace,
Or trade the memory of this night for food.
It well may be. I do not think I would.

—Edna St. Vincent Millay

Comments»

1. Wayne - October 11, 2009

This is one of my favorites. You have a wonderful sense of the unexpectedly appropriate.

2. indigobunting - October 11, 2009

And your voice reading it (23 years ago!) was one of the best things ever!

We miss you!

3. Wayne - October 11, 2009

You are kind and I miss you too.

4. Eulalia (Lali) Benejam Cobb - October 11, 2009

Happy anniversary, Indigo!

5. Mali - October 11, 2009

You are loved.

6. bridgett - October 12, 2009

I think I told you that the best secular wedding I ever attended had this poem as a reading. I have a copy I wrote out longhand hanging in Mike’s closet (which is a dressing room sized affair).

7. helen - October 12, 2009

Your anniversary? Yes, a very happy one. Although it sounds like that goes without saying.

8. indigo bunting - October 13, 2009

Thanks everyone. And B, yes, I remember you telling me this. These were the first words spoken in my wedding ceremony!

9. Dona - October 13, 2009

A belated happy anniversary to you and Tim.


Leave a Reply

