jump to navigation

Sugartown December 31, 2009

Posted by indigobunting in Uncategorized.
trackback

Today I woke up feeling kind of depressed. This often happens to me on Sundays, probably because the weekend is almost over, and I never get everything finished on a weekend that I should, be it chores or sufficient fun. So instead of jumping right into my Sunday to finish unfinished business, I brood a bit. It’s not so healthy.

Today, the last day of the year (a Thursday) definitely has the potential to feel like a big fat Sunday.

It shouldn’t. I am well aware that I am a happy person who loves where I live and has the most wonderful friends and neighbors around me. I may be more aware of it than ever. But 2009 has been tough in a lot of ways. I’ve been to a lot of funerals. People are dying, marriages are breaking up. There’s been plenty of pain to go around.

After getting through this morning’s e-mail, I fried some bacon, prepping for tonight’s contribution to the raucous New Year’s Eve party we’re attending. That’s as far as I’ve sous-cheffed the dish—Tim’s stepping in and taking care of the rest. I got myself to the gym, which was wonderfully crowded. I almost snuck into yoga class (I haven’t paid for yoga, so I would have had to sneak in or pull out some cash). But really, I needed that elevated-heart-rate workout to fight the depression. It was good. I think it helped.

I ran into a friend on the way out. She’ll be at the party tonight too. We began discussing the amount of holiday sugar in our lives and how our diets of late have made us feel, well, not too good physically (psychologically is a whole other issue, of course). She told me she caught herself pulling a particular cookie out this morning because she found it to be a good “morning cookie.” That she had begun to categorize cookies into best-time-of-day-to-eat was of concern to her. (I delight in both the fabulousness and horror of it!)

Last night I took as much of the sugar as I could—cookies, brownies, candy—and put it in storage bins that I hope to hide on a high shelf in the mudroom. The stuff has been falling out of my cupboards, there is so much of it. And reader, I don’t bake!

I am very appreciative of these wonderful gifts, but there is enough sugar here to last me a few months—and I should make it last those few months. I have arrived at the stage in which I both recognize the addiction and can see that it’s making me sick.

So tonight, it’s off to the New Year’s Eve party and the ritual burning of Sugartown (see last year’s description). Not only am I excited to see my friends and neighbors and ring in 2010 in this unusual way, but I hope that on some level it will be a rite of passage: a journey into a world of sugar moderation.

I got some troubles but they won’t last
I’m gonna lay right down here in the grass
And pretty soon all my troubles will pass
’cause I burned shoo-shoo-shoo, shoo-shoo-shoo
Shoo-shoo, shoo-shoo, shoo-shoo Sugartown

Comments»

1. Adam Byrn Tritt - December 31, 2009

Good luck with this. It’s difficult, goes against biological imperative, as does exercise, and well worth doing. And, if I might suggest, doing it with someone, or having two people with two different tough changes or goals, can make it much easier.

I also find exercise helps lift the depression. But fighting the brain to get out and do it when I’m depressed is a challenge.

I think I’ll go for a walk. I still have three miles to go today.

2. Helen - January 1, 2010

I got an overload of cookies too this year, and ended up feeding a lot of them to the squirrels. I’m sure the sugar isn’t good for them either, but they looked like they were swooning with delight.

I hope you had a great time last night, and I wish you a better year in 2010.

3. Eulalia (Lali) Benejam Cobb - January 1, 2010

Since I’m sure your cookies are of high quality, and worthy of being passed on, I would divide them into small batches and take them across the street to your neighbor who will be happy to deliver them to the food bank. BTW, the food bank doesn’t reopen until a week from Tuesday, so until then you’re on your own with those cookies.

4. Susan - January 3, 2010

I realized I was addicted to sugar when I found myself raiding the freezer in the basement, eating cookies my daughter and I had baked and stashed there until Christmas. I decided to treat it as a real addiction, and go cold turkey. It was tough in the beginning, and I was no fun to be around. But when the cravings eventually left, the feeling of freedom was wonderful.

In recent years I’ve let too many carbs slip in. Not sugar, but close. Too close. I have to get back to that freedom somehow. Oh……hi, IB!


Leave a Reply

