jump to navigation

A Series of Things: The Modern Cake Tester January 11, 2010

Posted by indigobunting in Uncategorized.
trackback

Sometimes one needs to test the doneness of a baking thing before it comes out o’ the oven. There are tools for that: Some people use toothpicks; others use metal cake testers. When Tim and I went to buy a cake tester many many years ago, we bought one adhered to its own presentation cardboard, proclaiming it to be a Modern Cake Tester.

It being the 1980s, that completely cracked us up.

We have never used the Modern Cake Tester without announcing that we were doing so, calling it by its full name. It used to reside in that catch-all utensil drawer that every kitchen has, and often the initial announcement of its use would come when one of us was banging through that drawer screaming “Where’s the Modern Cake Tester?”. Usually we’d find it. But its skinniness could make it extremely elusive.

At long last, someone got the bright idea to keep the Modern Cake Tester on the magnetic strip on the wall with the OK-knives (as distinguished from the “good” knives, which are pretty good, but likely would never be considered “great” knives). That magnetic strip is a fine home for the Modern Cake Tester. Here it is. He’s the third guy in from the right, two over from the pizza cutter.

What’s in a name? That which we call a Modern Cake Tester by any other name would test as clean at doneness. But would I love it so?

Comments»

1. Dona - January 11, 2010

We’ve got that magnetic strip too. But no modern cake tester. (We do, however, have toast tongs attached to the strip).

This post makes me want to write a post about my recent appointment with a Cutco knife salesperson, but I don’t want to possibly hurt the feelings of the salesman who is a friend of my daughter and son of a friend.

2. indigo bunting - January 11, 2010

Ah, one must be careful in a blog (there are ways I censor myself too…).

Still haven’t been able to get to comments on your blog, but haven’t tried in the last few days. Will try to be there again soon!

3. Mali - January 11, 2010

I love you guys.

4. Eulalia Benejam Cobb (Lali) - January 11, 2010

I’ve got that magnetic strip too! Pretty modern, I think.

5. Helen - January 12, 2010

Oh, I love this series. Do tell us more.

6. Bridgett - January 12, 2010

I’m with Helen. I want to know all your gadgets, modern or paleolithic.

7. Bridgett - January 12, 2010

Dona: I’ve had odd cutco moments myself…

8. LisaS - January 15, 2010

i think anyone who has heard of cutco has a weird story. but they’re great knives.
btw, you’re the first hit for “modern cake tester” … i know because now i’m looking for one. for my magnetic strip in my kitchen.

9. indigo bunting - January 15, 2010

Lisa: Exciting news! I had to try it myself!


Leave a Reply

