jump to navigation

Pill January 20, 2010

Posted by indigobunting in Uncategorized.
trackback

The scene: I am strapping my 7-year-old niece into the back seat of my car for the ride home from the artisanal cheese/goat farm.

J: Do you take a pill to not have babies?

Me: (surprised, but taking this in stride) Yes. Well, I used to. It works really well. (I decide not to get into specifics as to why I do not do this anymore.)

J: Sometimes people who stop can’t have babies right away.

Me: That’s right. Sometimes there’s a delay if you take the pill. Sometimes you get pregnant right away. And some people might not ever get pregnant—but they might not have anyway.

J: They can adopt.

Me: Yes.

J: Some people can’t afford to have their babies and they give them up.

Me: Yes. And that is good for people who really want to have babies and can’t.

She never asks why I don’t have a baby.

Did I mention she’s 7?

Comments»

1. Alesia - January 20, 2010

I think she’s clever and polite.

2. Dona Patrick - January 20, 2010

I think she’s either waiting until the next field trip or going to ask her mother.

I think also that she probably has such a good time with you she thinks you’d make a great mother.

3. indigobunting - January 20, 2010

I also think that young kids—like many adults—take it personally when you decide to not have kids. How could you not want someone like me around? thinks the kid. How could you make a choice that’s different from mine? think some adults.

4. Alesia - January 20, 2010

Having three children, I can understand perfectly why someone would choose not to have children.

You could always tell her that daughters are all well and good, but nieces are divine.

5. LisaS - January 20, 2010

I always thought my childless older (15 years older) cousin was glamorous. (funny, since she’s a CPA) and since I didn’t like other kids much, I never thought about it. But I do love Alesia’s suggestion.

6. Helen - January 20, 2010

Wow, that’s quite the conversation with a 7 year old. I wonder what put her onto that? I would have thought goat cheese would have been a more natural topic at that point.

7. indigo bunting - January 21, 2010

Helen, maybe it was that I don’t have a car seat, for obvious reasons. We were only going a mile, so she was just belted in…dad does not seem to worry about this as much as I do (being the ridiculous rule follower I tend to be). We didn’t exactly talk about the lack o’ car seat, so I’m just speculating how she could have gotten from goat to cheese to the pill. Of course, maybe she was thinking if all those goats were on the pill, there would be no goat cheese.

8. Eulalia Benejam Cobb (Lali) - January 21, 2010

I am speechless, and amazed. But I think both you and your niece did a good job with this conversation.

9. laurie - January 24, 2010

i wonder why this was so on her mind.

10. Bridgett - January 25, 2010

She really really really really wanted you to tell her spontaneously. I have this child. She is now 8.

11. indigo bunting - January 25, 2010

B: Darn. This is what happens when one isn’t a mom. Don’t know enough to pick up the cues.


Leave a Reply

