jump to navigation

Mali in Oppositeland November 24, 2010

Posted by indigobunting in Uncategorized.
trackback

A sentimental post for Thanksgiving

I have a blog friend who lives on the opposite side of the world. A blog friend is like a pen pal, without paper or stamps.

Mali (her blog name) lives in New Zealand. In some ways, New Zealand is Oppositeland.

When it’s spring here, it’s autumn there. When it’s autumn there, it’s spring here. If I’m sweating, she’s shivering, and vice versa.

Oppositeland is eighteen hours ahead of me, timewise. When Mali is sipping her evening chardonnay, I am tucked into bed and (if lucky) sound asleep, gathering energy for that same day to begin. When it is happy hour in Vermont, Mali is already at work the next day. It boggles my (occasionally gin-soaked) mind.

It is dark dark dark these days, and sometimes I think of Mali turning her face to the light light light, having more more more hours to do so.

In winter, there are moments I am envying her summer; six months later, she is envying mine. I think we both love the changing seasons, though. We seem happy enough to take turns.

Mali in Oppositeland is my living reminder of existing things that are invisible to me now, things that will become visible to me again, soon enough.

And she is (as far as I can tell) a real person who lives in the real Oppositeland, a place that looms exotic in my mind, a land of great mountains and rivers and fishes, a land of great wines and cities-by-the-sea.

If only getting there were as easy as falling down the rabbit-hole.*

 

*“. . . but I shall have to ask them what the name of the country is, you know. Please, Ma’am, is this New Zealand or Australia?” —Alice in Wonderland

Comments»

1. helen - November 25, 2010

They also have wacky trees there.

This is great. I certainly hope Mali is a real person, and not a troop of literary monkeys.

2. Susan - November 25, 2010

Very nice post. A good friend of mine is moving to Oppositeland in January. It seems impossibly far away, but then I remember another friend, who, before I knew her, flew to Australia by herself as a high school exchange student, only to find that her host mother had mental issues. Talk about far from home! I’m sure friend #1 will be just fine, but thank goodness for email. And Facebook.

3. Mali - November 25, 2010

Aw that’s lovely. I am a real person. Promise. Literary monkeys indeed. That Helen!

Susan, what can you expect with Australians? lol

But actually Alice asked a very good question. NZ and Australia – whilst we both probably qualify as Oppositeland – should not be confused!

But, I have to point out that I don’t live in Oppositeland, you do! And I’m about to sip some pinot gris (can you believe it, last night I couldn’t find any chardonnay!), because down here, way ahead of you guys, it is the weekend.

4. Deloney - November 26, 2010

Terrific. Oppositeland!

In one episode of the Simpsons Homer refers to Canada as “America Junior.“

5. Lali - November 26, 2010

Right as usual, Indigo. It does give one hope, in these dark, dark, dark days, to think of Mali in the sunshine.

6. indigobunting - November 27, 2010

I do live in Oppositeland, Mali. I openly admit it. It’s good that we both do. We’re practically neighbors!

7. Bridgett - November 29, 2010

That completely captures it.

8. LisaS - November 30, 2010

i feel the same way. as your post, and the comments. and i say we dig a rabbit-hole.

9. indigo bunting - December 2, 2010

Everyone bring a shovel!


Leave a Reply

