jump to navigation

I Have Eaten the Anchovies December 21, 2010

Posted by indigobunting in Uncategorized.
trackback

Deloney posted, after reading Helen: “My ear is pierced but I don’t wear an earring. I was reminded of this when I heard that Helen is on Twitter but she doesn’t tweet.”

I responded: “I have a small jar of anchovies in my cupboard that I haven’t eaten, and I have no idea why [I haven’t eaten them].”

Then Deloney wrote an anchovy-based post.

Last night I opened the jar of anchovies. I put them on a pizza with roasted brussels sprouts and butternut squash and goat cheese and fresh rosemary.

And it was good.

Comments»

1. helen - December 21, 2010

OK, that’s one bizarre pizza. Did you have vivid dreams last night?

2. indigo bunting - December 21, 2010

It sounds strange, I know, but it was incredibly tasty and comforting.

(No stranger than usual.)

3. Craig (Maito Sewa Yoleme) - December 21, 2010

I have started using anchovies in my pasta sauce. It all started with the puttanesca, but any tomato sauce seems to benefit from it.

4. indigo bunting - December 21, 2010

I mean, the dreams were no stranger than usual. But now I see you in fact said vivid. No more vivid than usual.

5. Mali - December 22, 2010

I rather like the sound of that pizza.

6. Dona - December 22, 2010

I agree about anchovies in pasta sauce — but my family doesn’t. I’m so pleased that all of you like anchovies. I know so many who do not.

7. helen - December 23, 2010

I do not like anchovies, or, to be more precise, I don’t eat them. I might like them if I did eat them–I’m pretty sure I would choose them over brussels sprouts.

8. Deloney - December 23, 2010

Atta girl, Indigo!

9. Lali - December 30, 2010

Count me as another anchovy lover.

10. Bridgett - January 2, 2011

Is this intended to remind me of plums in the ice box?

indigobunting - January 3, 2011

B, no, but I can see how it would! I should have written a poem…


Leave a Reply

