jump to navigation

Foals April 16, 2011

Posted by indigobunting in Uncategorized.
trackback

Mali and Bridgett have been discussing New Zealand versus American spellings, various pronunciations of words, etc. It reminds me that sometimes I have been embarrassed to have misunderstood fellow Americans because of their accents. I seem to have little trouble understanding the Queen’s English, but I can get into trouble with American Queens.

Living in Vermont, one runs into lots of people who weren’t born here. I’m one of them. Many New Yorkers are among us.

Once, at work, a coworker introduced me to a new part-timer. “Indigo, this is Masha,” she said.

I shook her hand. “Masha,” I said. “What an interesting name. Where is that from?” (thinking maybe Eastern European or Middle Eastern).

She grinned. “It’s Marcia,” she told me.

Then, nearly two weeks ago, I went to a funeral in New Hampshire with another coworker and one of our volunteers. The coworker is a Japanese man, whose accent I have no trouble with at all. The volunteer is from Queens.

I sat in the back seat of the car during the drive. I began resting my eyes. Suddenly, I heard Rose say, “Oh, look at the foals! Indigo, did you see the foals?”

I opened my eyes. “No,” I said. “My eyes were closed. How many were there?” I don’t know much about horses, or if there’s a foaling season per se, but with the rain and snow at this elevation, it seemed odd that foals would be out where we could see them.

Rose was confused. “Just one,” she said, no doubt thinking, Whaddya mean, you dumb shit? “All that water!”

Comments»

1. Craig (Maito Sewa Yoleme) - April 16, 2011

Foals? As in “waterfoals,” those things that cascade down mountainsides? I think they’re so named because if you keep shouting over the roar of the water, you get “a little horse.”

indigobunting - April 16, 2011

See? And I hadn’t even made that connection to my eventual laryngitis!

2. Bridgett - April 16, 2011

I had to read the comments to know what the foals really were.

I had trouble with west Texans for a long time. Oil is pronounced /oll/ and cells, like the cells in your body, are pronounced /sales/. Out of context, like in the library looking for a book on sales? Fun.

3. Mali - April 17, 2011

Like Bridgett, I had to read the comments to know what we were talking about!

Kudos to Craig for his comment too.

4. helen - April 18, 2011

Same here. And all hail Craig as the king of wordplay.

5. LisaS - April 20, 2011

ha! yes, i read the comments to get the clue too.


Leave a Reply

