jump to navigation

In Which I Admit I Miss Blogging August 9, 2011

Posted by indigobunting in Uncategorized.
trackback

I miss blogging.

I have variations of this conversation with lots of people lately: “I just can’t seem to catch up. I can’t get it all done.” “I can’t either.” “How did I get so much of it done before?”

I am not making much money this year. I am not actively doing anything about it. Just keeping up with the part-time work and the house-and-life-related chores is all I can manage, it seems.

But I used to work more. And blog. And get all the stuff that had to be done done, somehow.

If I never took on any work again, I still would not be able to keep up with bills and cleaning and hiring people to do stuff I can’t and groceries and cooking and . . .

I’m not playing as much as I should either.

What’s going on?

Comments»

1. Lali - August 9, 2011

I have this feeling all the time–have had it for years. I’ve come to the conclusion that it is strictly a subjective state, having nothing to do with reality (whatever that is).

2. Dona - August 9, 2011

I know what you mean, IB. It happens.

3. helen - August 9, 2011

I don’t know. I do know I often feel completely overwhelmed by all the things that need doing. I then get caught up in a spiral of negative emotions that makes everything worse.

I think maybe Lali is right.

4. Mali - August 10, 2011

Oh my, I can relate. As you know, about a month ago my employment situationo became a lack of employment situation. I thought I’d have heaps of time for writing, cleaning etc. I don’t. My office is still a disaster zone. I’ve not looked at my writing project. I can’t keep up either. Perhaps for you it’s a summer ennui?

5. indigo bunting - August 10, 2011

I do think Lali is probably right.

Helen: Exactly.

And Mali, I’m surprised, because it seems like you’ve been writing a lot (if not on whatever your writing project is). But I’m also oddly comforted. And summer is so fleeting here, I can’t believe there would be any ennui…

6. Mali - August 10, 2011

IB, I think my blog writing is a form of procrastination! A pleasurable form of procrastination though.

7. Damyanti - August 11, 2011

I have exactly the same feeling…and my upcoming vacation(s) are stressing me more than anything else! I run two blogs on which I have to schedule posts, am planning to publish an e-book, need to write articles before I leave, and keep up with my Italian. This is besides regular chores etc. I can’t keep up. My personal theory is I’m growing old.

8. indigo bunting - August 11, 2011

Damyanti: Planning my upcoming vacation is definitely stressing me out!

9. LisaS - August 12, 2011

same thing here …. less billable work, less blogging. For me, it’s not wanting to reveal to the world how shamefully little I really do, and how that fact drags my psyche.


Leave a Reply

