jump to navigation

Finding Em December 18, 2011

Posted by indigobunting in Uncategorized.
trackback

She comes to happy hour armed with Happy Happy, the fuchsia feline. She wants to play hide and seek. There is no counting. I will place my hands over my eyes, she will hide Happy Happy and then hide herself (or does HH hide on her own?), and when they are both hid, she will call, “Come find us!” I circle the first floor, leaving the TV room, passing the bathroom, through the kitchen, Martini Lounge, Tim’s studio. I know she is probably in the bathtub—she has hidden there before; the morning after, I washed away her footprints. On my second pass, I find her there, but I can’t find Happy Happy, who is behind the now-open bathroom door, which I figure out after a hint.

Next, I hide in plain sight in a tight corner behind an open French door, hoping Em will move clockwise through the house and I’ll have a chance to be missed, but she comes counterclockwise and I am immediately busted. Happy Happy is once again the holdout, hiding under the dining room table.

Tim hides Happy Happy atop the God Cod, and Em very nearly doesn’t find her.

But when Tim can’t find Em, I whisper, “Have you tried the bathroom?”

He hasn’t. He goes to draw the curtain.

Comments»

1. Craig R. Smith - December 18, 2011

Is the Martini Lounge another term for your dining room? (How I miss you!)

indigobunting - December 18, 2011

It’s my living room! I miss you too!

2. Mali - December 20, 2011

Every home should have a martini lounge. Sounds like you had fun with Em! And vice versa.

3. maureen - December 20, 2011

What? You have a cat who knows how to play hide and seek? Why haven’t I seen you on Letterman?

indigo bunting - December 20, 2011

It’s Em’s cat, and it’s astounding they haven’t been on Letterman.

4. Dona - December 31, 2011

This is lovely, but I’ve met the God Cod and I know that only Rupert-sized persons can ride him/her.

indigo bunting - January 3, 2012

Happy Happy is just a little bit bigger than Rupert!


Leave a Reply

