jump to navigation

The Birds and the Bear March 27, 2012

Posted by indigobunting in Uncategorized.
trackback

On Friday, at the time that Tim should have been leaving for work, he came back in the house and called to me, Come take a look at this.

Our bird feeders were on the ground, the pole on which they once hung ripped from the ground and bent in a way that would be difficult for your average-strengthed human to manage. The suet cake cage was in our neighbor’s yard—it was the only feeder that had had actual food in it the night before.

It sure looked like the work of a bear, but we’re in the village. This happened right beneath my bedroom window. I should have heard it, and might have heard it if I hadn’t had a humidifier running.

I asked on Facebook if anyone else had seen a bear in downtown Parts West, but no one had.

Until the next morning, when two neighbors across the street found sign: one’s tree, which held bird feeders, lost a branch; the other’s feeders were aggressively brought down.

I haven’t heard any bear reports since.

We figure it had something to do with the freakishly warm weather we’ve been having, which has now disappeared into a 40- and 50-degrees-ago memory.

Meanwhile, my bird buddies—the goldfinches and chickadees particularly—are no doubt disappointed in me. I had fallen down on my feeding duties a few days prebear; it’s been more than a week since I’ve given them anything. I don’t want to put feeders back up immediately, because I don’t want to encourage the bear. Plus, I no longer have a pole from which to hang feeders. But it’s freakin’ cold. Poor birds.

Tim thinks we should put the feeders out during the day and bring them in at night. I seriously wonder if we would be disciplined enough to do this.

Today I went to the bird store in search of new feeder pole. Closed on Tuesdays.

Comments»

1. Craig R. Smith - March 27, 2012

Poor birdies.

Mine must fend for themselves, but we have more of a year-round abundance. The Mockingbirds still sing with gusto most mornings, but with less urgency; I think they’ve already mated, and this is just normal singing now.

My Red-shouldered Hawk seems to have abandoned me, however. I haven’t seen him for a couple of years now.

2. Mali - March 27, 2012

Bears. Wow. I’m seriously impressed.

3. Helen - March 28, 2012

I’m seriously scared (for people in Parts West). This would completely discourage me from engaging in any outdoor activities without at least 5 delicious looking creatures to accompany me.

(Yes, I know they’re more scared of us than we are of them, except the occasional one that proves that truism untrue.)

4. Eulalia Benejam Cobb - March 28, 2012

Welcome to the select Society Of Those Who Have Been Visited By Bears (and had their bird feeders destroyed by them)! I know what you mean about the birds–I hate taking down the feeders, just as the really exciting visitors are beginning to arrive.

5. Dona - April 1, 2012

Wow. Bears. Although I understand they are coming closer to civilization here in Maryland as well.

I feel for you regarding your birdfeeders. I cannot feed the birds at ground level either. Can you hang something outside an upstairs window? Isn’t your office upstairs?


Leave a Reply

