jump to navigation

Skunk(s) November 15, 2012

Posted by indigobunting in Uncategorized.
trackback

I do not mind the one or two or three I sometimes see gathered under my bird feeder, feasting on dropped sunflower seeds. What they eat I don’t have to clean up. What they eat the mice don’t get.

But the feeder sits along the driveway, and they are too focused to notice when their world has suddenly lit up. Perhaps they don’t care. My car inches toward them. If necessary, I tap the horn. Eventually, they scatter to one side of the garage or the other.

On the rare occasion that I can’t get them to move, I park at the end of the drive and use the front door. I do not think they would spray me; they seem quite peaceful. But I respect their space.

I have neighbors who seem to find them quite threatening. I suggest that those neighbors make no sudden moves.

I have been feeling oddly fond of the skunks recently, calling them to come back! from the safety of my back door.

According to Wikipedia, skunks occasionally “may be found acting as scavengers, eating bird and rodent carcasses left by cats or other animals.” Lately we have been releasing a lot of rodent carcasses into the wilds of our yard. I like to think someone is getting a decent meal.

Maybe the one whose back is so, so white.

Comments»

1. Craig R. Smith - November 15, 2012

We had a skunk visit us regularly when I lived in Vermont. I loved how he waddled! Of course like you, I kept a respectful distance, but I always wished I could have made a closer acquaintance safely.

2. Lynda Corbett - November 15, 2012

He’s been in my driveway, too – now I know why! 😉

indigobunting - November 15, 2012

They’ve been hanging out a lot in your yard. I suspect you may have some living in the basement of your barn…

3. Helen - November 15, 2012

I am a bit of a skunkophile myself. Have you ever seen baby skunks? They are so, so cute. Of course, so are baby mice…

indigobunting - November 15, 2012

Sigh. Yes. So are baby mice. (Even adult mice. Triple sigh.)

4. Dona - November 18, 2012

I’ve never seen a [live] skunk in person. I’m afraid I would do a little jig that would make it spray me.

5. Mali - November 19, 2012

I’m with Dona. I wouldn’t know what to do if I saw one – run? Scream? Stay still? Play dead?

Guess I’ll have to come visit to find out …


Leave a Reply

