jump to navigation

Theory: Deaccessioning January 23, 2013

Posted by indigobunting in Uncategorized.
trackback

I have this beautiful theory that this, at long last, will be a year of deaccessioning. I will cull my collection of books and CDs. I will donate more clothing or take it to consignment shops. I will make another pile of potential yard-sale items. I will find new homes for things now living on the Island of Misfit Stuff.

Recently, I pulled two CDs I never listen to, listened to them, enjoyed them, and thought of someone who might enjoy them even more. I mailed them to her, explaining that it was OK if she didn’t like them. I was pleased that I’d done something.

Then I went to an awesome concert Saturday night and bought two more CDs.

I have a friend whose 365 choice this year is to post an item a day on eBay. I admire her stamina. In fact, I just purchased one of her offerings—a tiny lead elephant—to keep company with the tiny lead Bactrian camel she once gave me. The elephant’s in the mail.

Clearly, I need to do better.

Bactrian with rainbow.

Bactrian with rainbow.

Comments»

1. Bridgett - January 23, 2013

Is that really your window? That can’t be your window. Is it your window?

In other thoughts beyond my obsessive focus on your view or not your view, I’m with ya. I’ve always been the person to say yes to any cast off item, first because I was a teacher and then because I was a mother and now because…I’m nuts. I’ve started saying no, and that’s really the first step towards saying goodbye to some of this other weird stuff.

indigobunting - January 23, 2013

That’s my office window. Side of the house, in the back.

2. Bridgett - January 23, 2013

I never envisioned your neighbors so close. Small town, etc.

indigobunting - January 23, 2013

Very small town. Very close town. I have two large structures on a quarter-acre lot.

3. Helen - January 23, 2013

Yeah, that’s weird, I had somehow pictured the stuff that bucolic views are made of (rolling hills, sheep, etc.) from your windows. But a bactrian and a rainbow are even better!

I find this post, and you, so endearing.

indigobunting - January 24, 2013

Ah, Helen, let’s run away to Italy, eat bon bons, drink wine, and read Deloney’s book.

4. indigobunting - January 24, 2013

Lali lives in the Vermont you picture, and it’s only a couple of miles away. I live in the Vermont no one pictures.

5. Eulalia Benejam Cobb - January 24, 2013

I went to a talk and documentary last month about a Carthusian monastery in the nearby mountains. The presenter said that the monks possess so few things that there aren’t even any wastepaper baskets in the cells….

indigobunting - January 24, 2013

That’s amazing. I’ve often thought there would be things about monastic life that wouldn’t be bad at all…

6. Helen - January 29, 2013

Yes, let’s do that. Please.

7. LisaS - March 4, 2013

ebay a day, now that’s a concept ….


Leave a Reply

