jump to navigation

Dear Grapefruit: February 7, 2013

Posted by indigobunting in Uncategorized.
trackback

I have to quit you.

Baby, I don’t want to. There are two of you down in my fridge right now, all round and red and juicy. There’s a half gallon jug I haven’t even opened.

I want you so bad.

But the doctor’s put me on this drug, and the one thing it denies me is you. You are too powerful. You jack up the dose.

No more quick swigs. No more of that fabulous rye/grapefruit cocktail Tim’s been mixin’. And damned if I didn’t just buy a $14 bottle of grapefruit bitters.

Oh sweet and bitter grapefruit, doctor says maybe I just need to take this stuff in the winter months. I cling to hope and console myself with the dream of a hot, succulent summer reunion.

It’s not you. It’s not even me, I swear it.

I am gonna ache for you as much as ever.

Love,
Indigo

Comments»

1. Eulalia Benejam Cobb - February 7, 2013

I’ve heard about grapefruit interacting with certain meds. That’s too bad–it seems like such a healthy food.

2. Bridgett - February 8, 2013

I had to give up soy for my thyroid medication. My regular order at Pho Grand was #23.13 Bun Dau Hu Chien: Vermicelli with Tofu, vegetables, cilantro, and crushed peanuts.

So although I could go the rest of my life without touching a grapefruit, I feel your pain. I hope it’s just seasonal (of course, that’s when citrus is in season…)

indigobunting - February 10, 2013

And I feel your pain!

3. Mali - February 8, 2013

Never understood people who liked grapefruit. But sorry you have to miss something you really really like.

4. Helen - February 11, 2013

I admit I can’t feel your pain. But I love the fact that you didn’t leave that grapefruit hanging, doomed forever to wondering what it had done to offend you.

indigobunting - February 12, 2013

I try to be responsible.

5. LisaS - March 4, 2013

i understand. i eat grapefruits peeled and pulled apart like oranges. and i am so sad for you … wait a second, grapefruit bitters?

indigobunting - March 5, 2013

But wait…things have changed. And yes, grapefruit bitters!

6. Dona - April 10, 2013

I can take grapefruit or leave it, but sorry you love it and have to quit it. Maybe you need a second opinion…


Leave a Reply

