jump to navigation

2BY11: Look Up/August September 5, 2013

Posted by indigobunting in Uncategorized.
trackback

Lots sad/dark/frustrating stuff going on. I don’t want to dwell on any of it by writing about it, but it keeps me from wanting to write anything at all. (If you don’t have anything nice to say . . . )

Therefore, I will dutifully list the four species I added to the list last month: northern harrier (at last!), great-horned owl, Acadian flycatcher, sharp-shinned hawk. I’m up to 169 (65 species ahead of last year at this time). But oh, the slowing. And Canada geese overhead every day.

Comments»

1. Eulalia Benejam Cobb - September 10, 2013

Sorry about the sad, dark, frustrating…Hope things get better soon.

2. Helen - September 10, 2013

Me too, that combination of sad/dark/frustrating sounds a bit overwhelming.

I guess Canada geese don’t excite birdwatchers?

3. Helen - September 16, 2013

Are things any better Indigo? I hope so…

indigobunting - September 16, 2013

Yes and no. And yet I can’t seem to get to writing anything here. About to leave town for a few days—perhaps I’ll find something to say after that! xxoo

4. Helen - September 24, 2013

I hope so… have fun!

5. Bridgett - September 29, 2013

Hope things have gotten better. I have been out of touch for too long. Question about the great horned owl: did you have to see it to count it?

indigobunting - September 30, 2013

No! In the world of listing, you just have to hear it (which is what happened with the owl). Of course, you need to be sure that that’s what you’re hearing! (Great-horned owl pretty easy.) I did see the other three.


Leave a Reply

