jump to navigation

A Pickle Story December 14, 2013

Posted by indigobunting in Uncategorized.
trackback

It’s in the single Fahrenheits this morning, and I was bracing myself to walk to the PO, and Tim offered to walk with me, and it was in fact bracing out there, and I went to my box and turned the combination, and I pulled out the mail, and I looked at the overstuffed envelope, and I saw the return address, and I told Tim that in all likelihood I was going to be tearing up a little, because this is what happened:

pickle 1

pickle2

pickle3a

pickle4

pickle5

pickle6

This is one of the best presents I’ve ever received. Thank you, thank you, Helen! (As if I weren’t sentimental enough about you!)

 
 
Two notes on the accompanying text (aka Figure 3): I apologize for having cut off a bit there on the right during my expert photography. I think you can figure out what it says. Also, I thoroughly enjoyed refluffing the pickle.

Comments»

1. Craig R. Smith - December 14, 2013

How perfect! Your blue jay looks hungry.

The pickle could double as a nifty cocoon, a caterpillar waiting through the long winter for a spring rebirth.

indigobunting - December 14, 2013

(Shhhh…it’s an indigo bunting, not a blue jay! See recent post.)

And yes, it’s perfect, thank you!

2. Helen - December 14, 2013

Oh, I’m so glad it arrived; I was beginning to doubt it would because I mailed it on Dec. 2 and even Canada Post isn’t usually that slow. And I’m so happy to see how the pickle’s ugliness is greatly enhanced by that blue jay masquerading as an indigo bunting.

3. Jenny Hill - December 14, 2013

I didn’t know that the pickle tradition is now considered to be originally American. Since the 1990s I’ve hidden a pickle in the tree for my Helen (who is now grown and out on her own). This year, while unpacking ornaments, I discovered two pickles. Guess I had backup? They both went on the tree. I love this grey one! It’s magnificent in its both unabashed grey knitty-ness, and it’s thoughtfulness.

4. Mali - December 18, 2016

I am surprised I missed this back in 2013, but looking at the timing, I think I was travelling. I have just put up my tree, complete with Christmas pickle … I too get very sentimental about Helen.

indigobunting - December 21, 2016

xxoo!


Leave a Reply

