jump to navigation

H4H: It’s Time January 21, 2015

Posted by indigobunting in Uncategorized.
trackback

Dear Helen:

It’s time to get the band back together.

I know. You never expected to hear that from me. I never expected to suggest it.

But after twenty-five years, maybe it’s time to let bygones be bygones. I mean, we were good. We were really good.

It’s not fair to the world, keeping separate those parts of a whole that, when merged, become a raging, well-oiled talent machine. We were loud and intense and fücking beautiful.

I can barely remember why we broke up. Maybe some of us didn’t handle the drugs as well as others. Maybe some of us got a little cranky when hungry. Maybe when that BradPittWannabe you slept with in OK City stole my bass I got more than a little pissed off. Maybe when a person rents a Tuscan villa, she should invite the entire band to join her.

But that’s all water under the bridge. We’re reuniting, and we are gonna rock. We still look good. All of us. And now that we’ve matured a bit, we’re better prepared to deal with the stress of your superior beauty. We’ll keep our jealousy on a tight leash with a studded collar. Pinky swear! I mean, looks aren’t everything, right? Not all of us can have hair like yours. (Bitch.)

Mali and I have been working on some stuff that will knock you on your ass: “Fish Runner,” “Stick Shift,” “No Kidding.” Your voice is perfect for “Mi Dispiace.” I know you say you’ve stopped writing, but that can’t be true. We need you back in it, with more songs like “Procrastinitus Interruptus.” Or “Paris Rumble.”

Ah, Paris.

Can you start rehearsals next week? Wednesdays are good for the rest of us.

Face it, Helen, we were freakin’ epic, utterly great together. This is going to be extraordinary. It’s impossible to think that we’ve wasted this much time. It’s impossible to imagine that anything could have ended the wonder that was us.

Of course, there was that thing with Deloney.

Shit. I swore I wasn’t going to bring that up.

Comments»

1. lynda - January 21, 2015

Brilliant.

2. deloney - January 23, 2015

Love it. 🙂

3. Mali - January 24, 2015

You are freaking brilliant!

Mali - January 24, 2015

Oops – meant to add – I agree 100%!

4. Helen Coo - January 26, 2015

Dear Indigo:

I feel your longing, man (woman, gender-neutral term, whatever), I really do. All those nights of getting wasted together on Parisian ennui and Ligurian landscapes and Deloney’s fire escape were, as you say, loud and intense and fucking beautiful. (Oh, mi dispiace, I forgot that I was getting wasted on Ligurian landscapes with someone else. But that’s water under the ponte vecchio, right?)

Hell, you and Mali and the rest of the band are still loud and intense and fucking beautiful. No, make that loud and intense and motherfucking beautiful. But my hearing’s shot, my hair’s gone gray, and no amount of WD40 will revive this rusty machine. And I have to be careful about getting knocked on my ass—osteopenia, you know. All that’s left in me is a banal ballad that’s best left unsung, although I’m trying to sell the rights to Celine Dion.

Mi dispiace, me dispiace, mi dispiace.

(And will you stop harping over that bass already? It’s been a quarter of a century. How many times do I have to say mi dispiace? In fact, you should really be feeling dispiaced for mi because that BradPittWannabe wasn’t even that good. NOTHING like Deloney.)

Oh shit. I swore I wasn’t going to bring that up.

Mi dispiace.

Mali - January 26, 2015

And Helen pleads our case for us.

5. Dona - March 1, 2015

Yes, bring the band back together. I agree with Lynda, Mali and Deloney — Brilliant, freaking brilliant, I love it.

indigobunting - March 2, 2015

Ah, Cedar Waxwing, remember those days?


Leave a Reply

