jump to navigation

Half-Assed February 27, 2015

Posted by indigobunting in Uncategorized.
trackback

On Monday, my chiropractor pronounced my pelvis and spine in alignment after a 6-plus-week struggle with a pinched nerve. She said I could go back to yoga if I avoided certain poses. She said I could get back on an elliptical, gradually, in a couple more weeks. She gave me permission to try to ice skate, as long as I didn’t fall (the rink closes for the season this weekend!). And she told me that my right gluteus had atrophied a bit and was not as firm as my left.

In a way, this is puzzling, because all the exercise I’ve been doing—walking and biking at the gym, cross-country skiing on the rail trail—works both sides of my body. But I guess my left side has been doing some serious compensating for the weakness on my right.

She gave me some exercises to do to strengthen my right side. I haven’t done them yet.

I skated for (just) a half hour today. I could tell I’d been three months off the ice. There were enough people there that I couldn’t reverse direction, leaving my left cheek, again, to lord it over the right.

Comments»

1. Dona - March 1, 2015

Oh, my. I didn’t know you were having back pain problems. Glad you are on the mend.

I’d hate to hear what a chiropractor said about my ass. I imagine both sides have atrophied.

indigobunting - March 2, 2015

LOL, CW!

2. Eulalia Benejam Cobb - March 2, 2015

It’s all about symmetry! Feel better soon, Indigo.

3. Helen Coo - March 7, 2015

testing

4. Helen Coo - March 7, 2015

Oh, those cheeky left cheeks, always vying for asscendancy.

Just out of curiosity, what yoga poses are you supposed to avoid?

indigobunting - March 7, 2015

At this point, she’s most concerned with balancing poses—anything on one leg!

indigobunting - March 7, 2015

Oh, and asscendancy? Brilliant.

5. Helen Coo - March 7, 2015

I just tried to leave this on Dona’s blog, but it’s not letting me comment there either:

Aacckk, sorry I’ve arrived so late. I LOVE this tribute to Indigo Bunting, almost as much as I LOVE her writing (and probably her too, although I only know her through her writing). Happy belated birthday, Indigo!

indigobunting - March 7, 2015

Thanks, Helen! I probably love you too (as you’ve probably guessed).

6. susan365 - March 14, 2015

So good to be reading you again. And what a great title for this post!

7. Mali - March 14, 2015

Ah, the joys of coming back from holiday – finding a new Indigo Bunting blog post. Oh, for even one firm glut.


Leave a Reply

