jump to navigation

Baby Donas* August 5, 2015

Posted by indigobunting in Uncategorized.
trackback

On Saturday, just as we were about to leave the house for the annual champagne/art party down the road, I got a text from my neighbor: “Do either of you have a minute for a baby bird ID?” Baby birds, eh? They can be tough. “We’ll be right there.”

We walked across the street, and Martha showed us the nest near the top of the Japanese maple. (I first wrote her Japanese maple, but suddenly that sounded like a euphemism.) Thom joined us and reported that the parent was grayish and had a crest. I was looking for tufted titmice.

But the babies, as best as I could see them underneath, didn’t look like titmice. For the briefest of moments, I thought they might be robins. But then I caught a glimpse of mask. Cedar waxwings! We Googled “baby cedar waxwings,” and there could be no doubt that’s what they were looking at.

And then the mama showed up and hovered, and glared at us.

Tim, being taller and having access to PhotoShop to work on the image a bit, managed to produce this from his iPhone:

 

11779798_10204681107968084_7916323219215960935_o

 

You can see three!

It’s been four days. I wonder if they’ve fledged.

 

*Dona is our own Cedar Waxwing, of course.

Comments»

1. Mali - August 6, 2015

How lovely!

2. Dona - August 27, 2015

How did I miss this one!? Wonderful! They will have fledged by now I imagine. Lucky you…..


Leave a Reply

