jump to navigation

Food Stuff: Fish Runner 2 August 6, 2015

Posted by indigobunting in Uncategorized.
trackback

Each week I think “Maybe I won’t buy so much this time.” Each week I say “I need to save money.” Then, on Wednesday morning, the fish runner emails the list of this week’s two or three offerings. We have til 5:30 to order for Friday delivery. Each week I cave. And usually I buy more than one thing.

I have a baby octopus and two pounds of kickass shrimp in the freezer.

The thing is, the prices are really good. However, just because the prices are good doesn’t mean I can really afford it, especially given my upcoming travel plans. On the flip side, I know this won’t last forever. Nothing does. I am living in a brief moment when fresh fish is practically being delivered to my doorstep. I want it. I’m addicted.

(One time the fish runner helped me out with a cioppino. Special order.)

My understanding is that there’s a guy in Boston who buys for restaurants between here and there. Our fish runner meets the Boston buyer in a town about 65 miles from here and brings our order back.

On Valentine’s Day, fresh oysters were shucked down at the farmer’s market. We made a mignonette, shared it around. It was a good day.

There have been other offers of oysters, but I’ve never (ahem) learned to shuck myself. Most of my oyster consumption happens in Portland bars. I don’t get the lobsters either, mostly because I’m in denial about taking responsibility for killing my own meat AND I’m not really into the whole-lobster thing. Give me a lobster roll or grilled tail.

Here are some things I’ve been able to order over these months: black sea bass, haddock, scallops, mussels, clams, squid, octopus, smoked bluefish, swordfish, tuna, sockeye salmon, halibut, pollock, salt cod, shrimp, flounder, monkfish, skate, mahi, red snapper. Am I forgetting anything? Probably.

This operation seems to care about sustainability, often informing us as to how something was [allegedly] caught (especially in the case of those fish you know have been on endangered lists).

This week I ordered scallops for Tim and salt cod for me. Nothing like a good brandade…although it may be awhile before it’s cool enough to prepare it.

Comments»

1. Mali - August 7, 2015

Oh, I loved this. I’m such an inexpert cooker-of-fish, and my husband doesn’t really love mussels or scallops or prawns (all of which I love) either, so I cook it far too rarely. Salmon is about all I can do competently. Though perhaps it’s simply a case of practice makes perfect? … I think you’re might be sparking some enthusiasm here …

2. guacachocolatte - August 16, 2015

I love the “ahem” bit (predictably).

Ahem… I always hesitate to bring stuff like this up, but someone told me that octopus (octopi?) are very intelligent (they would probably know whether “octopus” or “octopi” is the better usage for this situation).

indigobunting - August 18, 2015

Sigh. I know. I figure everyone/thing is intelligent. And probably delicious. The deliciousness of octopi and rabbits is problematic.


Leave a comment