jump to navigation

Fish or Not?* Part 1: The Plan August 24, 2015

Posted by indigobunting in Uncategorized.
trackback

Am I a fish? Well, I’m a Pisces. And I make part of my living based on the fact that some people are obsessed with this particular animal.

As most of you know, I enjoy my cocktails, my wine, my beer, my hard liquor. But do I drink like a fish? I don’t think so, but sometimes I worry that I drink too often.

Near the end of July, I hatched a plan to cut back. By one third. In terms of number of days drinking. The last week of July, I managed it: I took three days of seven off.

The plan is to not drink on ten calendar days in both August in September. That should be easy, right? It can be any ten days. I still get to drink twice as many days in the month as I don’t.

Some of my friends don’t understand this exercise. A drink or two a day is perfectly fine, they say. Basically, I agree. I just wonder if I can do it.

Because, you see, I know I’m addicted to ritual. I love happy hour, sitting with Tim or friends at the end of the day, imbibing and unwinding. Obviously, I love alcohol too—but I don’t think that I’m addicted to that. I think I just like it a whole lot.

It’s August. It’s the end of summer. I could say I’m occasionally drinking, because it turns out August is full of occasion. I have eight more chances to add days to this month’s tally.

I wonder if I’ll make it.

 

 

*With a nod to Bill Nye the Science Guy

Comments»

1. Mali - August 25, 2015

Late summer is a tough time to give up alcohol, even for three days a week. Don’t overdo it!

I try to have few alcohol free days a week too. It can become a habit, and I’m trying to drink only what I truly enjoy, when I am truly enjoying it. Besides, I can do without the calories, whereas you are already slim and gorgeous.

indigobunting - August 31, 2015

I have been trying to be a more discerning drinker too, and this experiment may be helping with that. In terms of the calories, I have been overeating in place of alcohol.

2. guacachocolatte - August 25, 2015

I’m completely in the habit of pouring (and drinking) a glass of red wine when I get home from work (and before dinner on weekends). It’s a ritual, and I guess it’s also an addiction of sorts because if I don’t have that glass of wine I go into a sort of psychological withdrawal. But even though I have a drink every day it’s only one, so the Libra in me considers it a well-balanced addiction.

indigobunting - August 31, 2015

I believe you are truly well balanced. I am convinced my true addiction is psychological. Wine gets tricky with me, though, because I want more than one glass of that. It’s the drink I’m most likely to lose track of.

3. Dona - August 27, 2015

It is nice to see I am not alone — both in the cutting back schemes and the enjoying the ritual/alcohol several times a week.

indigobunting - August 31, 2015

We’ll all have fun if we ever get that villa in Italy.


Leave a Reply

