jump to navigation

Connecticut March 1, 2016

Posted by indigobunting in Uncategorized.
trackback

I can’t ever remember if my mother was born in Pawcatuck, Connecticut, or Westerly, Rhode Island, the two being next to each other on the border. But her sister ended up in Manchester, so a few times our family made the trip there to see our cousins. We weren’t much of a traveling family, so it didn’t happen very often, and frankly, we were a bit more likely to see them at their house on the shore in Rhode Island.

In 2009, friends invited us to Stonington to stay at a lovely property. My mother went to high school in that town. We visited my cousin’s and uncle’s graves in Mystic. It was a lovely trip.

We have Northbrook friends who live in Bethel. We went to visit them once while they were building their new home, a gorgeous Adirondack-lodge–inspired place. We haven’t been there since they finished it and moved in. That must change.

I think the last time I was in the state was I driving from my high school reunion (25) to Portland, Maine, to meet Tim there. I drove the whole way across on an interstate, lots of traffic, a soul-killing drive. It’s good to know that it’s not all like that.

Been there?: Yes

Comments»

1. Mali - March 1, 2016

Oooh, I’m loving this. It’s like a tour across the US.


Leave a Reply

