jump to navigation

Delaware March 3, 2016

Posted by indigobunting in Uncategorized.
trackback

When I think of Delaware, I think that I haven’t really been there, just driven through on my way to somewhere else, but that’s not true, because once I visited a favorite camp counselor near Dover (maybe driving through to somewhere else), and I’ve been to Rehoboth Beach a couple of times, the last time in my twenties with April and Jan, when I got second-degree burns on the top of my feet and when Tim and I ran into his distant Pennsylvania cousin at a restaurant whom we only recognized because we’d all recently been to a funeral, and really it was the wives who kept poking their husbands and saying, “Isn’t that…?,” and my brother-in-law drives over the Pennsylvania border to teach at a private school in Wilmington (not that that has anything to do with whether I have been to Delaware), and I have friends from college who live there whom I have seen maybe once since and now they have a daughter about to go to college herself, and I started this sentence with “When I think of Delaware” when the truth is I barely think of Delaware at all, which may not be fair to Delaware, but I don’t even have time to think about the fairness of my lack of thought, let alone Delaware itself.

Been there?: Yes

Comments»

1. Mali - March 4, 2016

Now, I’ve been to Delaware several times. When I was an exchange student in Bangkok, I went to school with another AFS student from Delaware (and one from Ohio, and briefly, one from Texas). So when I started travelling to Washington DC, I took the chance to visit her in Delaware before or after my work, or on the weekend. I even took my husband one year. I’ve been to kids’ soccer games in Delaware, to an open night at my friend’s daughter’s school (which I found fascinating), been there in fall (cos they don’t have autumn in Delaware), and when it was surrounded by snow in February, and just before Christmas to see her tree. We met another old AFS student there – though she’s now moved back to Vermont, which gives me another reason to visit your state.

I love Delaware, and probably think about it more often than you!

indigobunting - March 7, 2016

I wonder how often we were geographically close to each other, given how long I lived in Maryland (right next to Delaware!) and DC.

Mali - March 7, 2016

I was travelling there between 1996 and 2001.

2. guacachocolatte - March 5, 2016

Brilliant! And nobody I know has ever mentioned going to Delaware, although obviously people do travel there, as evidenced by Mali’s comment. We used to have a Prime Minister named Joe Clark whom the press dubbed “Joe Who?,” I guess because he was so unassuming and therefore didn’t make much of an impression on the domestic or world stage. So I hereby dub Delaware “Delawhere?”.

indigobunting - March 7, 2016

If we don’t all meet at some snooty hotel out west, perhaps we should head to Delawhere!

3. indigobunting - March 8, 2016

Mali: Alas, then it would have been more unlikely (I moved to Vermont in 1995). I love the thought of it though.


Leave a Reply

