jump to navigation

Georgia March 8, 2016

Posted by indigobunting in Uncategorized.
trackback

My aunt lived in Georgia, and when I was very, very young, we visited her.

When I went to Florida with Leyla, we drove through Georgia to get there.

But the only time I’ve been to Georgia in truly conscious memory was in 1997 for my brother-in-law’s wedding. His fiancée was from Atlanta. Moneyed Atlanta.

And so we went. To four events over the weekend (I needed four dresses). It was a world and a culture that I’d only ever read about.

Everyone was so nice.

My sister-in-law’s family had a cabin on a lake, and this is where they were married. It was beautiful. I envisioned someday being able to visit there and spend real time with everyone. But as always, when one doesn’t get summers off, it’s hard to manage time and money and be everywhere one wants to be and do everything one wants to do.

They had two kids, and then they got divorced.

It makes me sad. But, as Louis C.K. pointed out, “No good marriage has ever ended in divorce.” I hope everyone is happier.

At one point, they nearly moved to Georgia. I got excited that I might also get to visit a long-ago boyfriend of mine and his wife. But the move didn’t happen, and the divorce did. And I haven’t been to Georgia since the wedding.

Been there?: Yes

Comments»

1. Mali - March 9, 2016

That is sad. We had NZ friends who lived there for a year, but we didn’t get around to visit them. I had an AFS friend from Savannah (where I’d like to go), but I think she lives in DC now. I suspect I might never get there.

indigobunting - March 10, 2016

It’s interesting—not always good, but not necessarily bad—to think about all the places we’ll never be.

2. Bridgett - March 19, 2016

I knew we were in trouble when you said “moneyed Atlanta.”


Leave a Reply

