jump to navigation

Iowa March 15, 2016

Posted by indigobunting in Uncategorized.
trackback

You know how sometimes you look at a person or a group of people—say, for instance, the current Republican presidential candidates—and you know they don’t represent the United States as a whole, but even so, it gives you an icky feeling about the whole country? Or you know how back in elementary school, one person’s bad behavior could ruin things for the whole group?

I tend to dismiss Iowa for reasons that have nothing to do with Iowa.

But now I’m back in tricky been-there-or-not? territory.

I drove through Iowa on that U-Haul trip to Colorado. I certainly was conscious while doing so. I was no doubt on major interstates. But it was a just-plow-through trip, and I don’t have memory of it really, so I don’t know whether to count it. And there is the slightest possibility that I’m wrong, because Paul of Indiana, with whom I made this trip, remembers our route differently. More on that in the upcoming Kansas post.

I believe I have set foot in Iowa. But I have not experienced Iowa. So I’m going to put it in that middle Yes-but-No category.

Been there?: Yes but No

Comments»

1. Bridgett - March 17, 2016

PRetty sure that how most folks feel about Iowa…

indigobunting - March 17, 2016

Ha!

2. Mali - March 19, 2016

It’s only been in the last year or two that I’ve been able to find Iowa on a map. Mind you, that’s the same with Idaho, and a few more that you’re going to cover.

indigobunting - March 20, 2016

Mali: It’s been awhile since I’ve tried to ID all the states on a blank map. Just sayin’.


Leave a Reply

