jump to navigation

New York April 14, 2016

Posted by indigobunting in Uncategorized.
trackback

If I were to get up from this desk, and assuming I am already wearing shoes, I could walk out my front door and into New York in less than five minutes.

Hold on. I’ll check.

[insert favorite “hold” music here]

Three minutes, fifteen seconds, at a brisk pace. And I answered a quick text while I was walking.

New York is many places. It took me years to understand that “upstate” meant “anything outside of New York City.”

I have always loved the city. Always. When I ascend from Penn Station, there’s something in me that smiles and relaxes.

But that’s because I’m a visitor. I could only live there if I was extremely rich and not struggling to survive. I see no signs of this happening.

Last week I had a work event in the city. I had just enough time before said event to walk by the 9/11 Memorial Museum for the first time. I visited with colleagues and friends. I stayed an extra day and took in two Broadway shows by myself. Forty-five hours. Yum.

For me, for twenty-two years, New York was the Adirondacks and Northbrook Lodge, one of the greatest love stories of my life. Here, it’s the closest grocery store and (one of) my gym(s). Living in this limbotown on the border, one can almost physically see the class line: Parts West looks more like poor New York; a five minutes’ drive in the opposite direction looks like rich Vermont. (Do this. Go to the grocery store and gym in the New York town closest to me. Look around. Then do the same thing in the Vermont town a half hour away, where I work. How different do the people look? It’s jarring.)

For the record, I caught my first trout on a fly in the Catskills, on the Beaver Kill, in 1989.

I have never spent time in western New York. I want to visit the Cornell Lab of Ornithology (of course). I want to see Ithaca, Seneca Falls, maybe Cooperstown. Maybe even Niagara Falls from the U.S. side.

Two summers ago—though it’s not hard, not far to reach—I finally made it to Rockaway Beach.

Been there?: Yes

Comments»

1. guacachocolatte - April 19, 2016

I just finished Part 1 of Ric Burns’ New York–which of course is all about the city, not “upstate.” I am straining to refrain from spouting all sorts of trivia I learned, most of which I’m sure you already know.

I’ve seen a similar class chasm when I’ve driven through northern New York to western Massachusetts (to Kripalu), It is jarring.

indigobunting - April 20, 2016

Are you seriously telling me you go to Kripalu and we still haven’t met? That isn’t so far away! And you apparently drive right past me. (That said, I know we bloggers are a busy and introverted bunch.) I went to Kripalu once. A long time ago…

And oh, spout away. My ignorance is vast, and conversation is a good time, regardless.

2. Mali - April 19, 2016

Three minutes fifteen seconds! Love it.

My first ever American friend was from upstate (about upstate as you can get) NY – Buffalo. Though now she lives in Florida. Very sensible.

indigobunting - April 20, 2016

I’ve never been to Buffalo, only heard the tales…

3. Bridgett - April 28, 2016

This is awesome too. 🙂


Leave a Reply

