jump to navigation

Rhode Island April 22, 2016

Posted by indigobunting in Uncategorized.
trackback

My mother grew up there.

When I was growing up, we’d sometimes visit my aunt and uncle and cousins at their Narragansett house. It’s the only place I really feel like I’ve been to in Rhode Island, although once our aunt took us to a famous fancy restaurant on the water in Newport, and my cousin’s memorial service was in an old church in Wickford.

This Blossom Dearie song often gets stuck in my head:

Been there?: Yes

Comments»

1. guacachocolatte - May 2, 2016

I can see where that tune might get stuck in one’s head… maybe I shouldn’t have listened to it right before bed.

I’ve never heard of Narragansett so googled it, and was delighted to discover that it has a Batmobile. Until I found out that it’s actually a Blood Alcohol.Testing mobile, which doesn’t look anything like the thing Batman drove.

indigobunting - May 3, 2016

Wow. I just looked that up. Thanks for the warning. The other Batmobile is cooler.

2. Mali - May 30, 2016

Why isn’t Rhode Island an island?

indigobunting - June 1, 2016

Good question. Wikipedia has this to say about it: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rhode_Island


Leave a Reply

