jump to navigation

No Tree December 18, 2016

Posted by indigobunting in Uncategorized.
trackback

It’s looking like we’re not going to get a Christmas tree this year.

I mean, it’s Christmas in a week. A week. Jeez.

We got one in 2009, then not again til 2013 (when we at last stayed home), then another in 2014. I thought we had gotten one last year—but we didn’t stay home last year. We traveled. We hosted a New Year’s Eve party, though, so we decorated with an indoor wreath and garlands and lights. But no tree.

Tim got garlands the other day so we’d have something when he hosted some friends for dinner last night.

I’m a little hung over from last night.

But now there are no more weekend days before Christmas weekend to get a Christmas tree, and it seems like a lot of bother, and there are so many other things to do, so I don’t think we are going to get a Christmas tree this year.

What I’ll miss: my ornaments, especially my pickle ornament from Helen (and here it is its second year). Also goatcycling when the tree comes down.

Maybe next year.

Comments»

1. Mali - December 18, 2016

I confess, I have a fake tree. So we have one every year. This year we’re staying at home, but there will not be any visiting relatives from overseas. So my husband thought we wouldn’t be putting up the tree. I was horrified at the thought.

But wreaths and garlands and lights (lights are a bit pointless here) are nice too.

2. Helen - December 21, 2016

Awwww… remember that your Christmas pickle is equally elegant and festive when hung in the front window or on your vehicle’s rear-view mirror (much classier than fuzzy dice), or when used as a hair ornament.

indigobunting - December 21, 2016

I hear that. I may have to make a trip to the attic.


Leave a Reply

