jump to navigation

Hawaii (2) December 22, 2016

Posted by indigobunting in Uncategorized.
trackback

Early this month, on Ellen’s birthday, I was writing a birthday message on her Facebook wall when I noticed a familiar name—the name of someone I worked with in D.C. more than 20 years ago. He has relatives in this area, and soon after I moved here we got together once, but that was probably 20 years ago, and I hadn’t heard from/about him since.

I asked if he was the one I knew from our previous place of employment.

He was, and we had one of those fun chatty reunions. Within half an hour, he was on his weekly radio program in Hawaii, so I was almost immediately hearing his voice again. He plays great music, and he mentioned me by name (we were Facebooking during sets), and he wished Ellen a happy birthday multiple times, and it was cool.

Then two weeks passed, but last Friday he put me on the reminder list that the show was on, and I tuned in (oh, the wonders of the Internet). I can’t listen to music if I’m reading or editing, but I had enough filing/bill paying/gift wrapping to do that I justified listening the whole three hours. I was commenting on the show via Facebook again and got another shout out.

I mention this because in these darkest days, there is something about hearing my name on Hawaiian radio and knowing that other people are hearing my name on Hawaiian radio, including real Hawaiians, that feels . . . warm. Light.

Comments»

1. Mali - December 27, 2016

I wane to send warm, light hugs. Your birds on a string are here enjoying warmth and light too. So in a way you are too.


Leave a Reply

