jump to navigation

5BY4: Quarterly Report and Summation January 1, 2017

Posted by indigobunting in Uncategorized.
trackback

I only added five species to the list since September, and my last one was November 10 (if only that white bird had been a gyrfalcon!). But they were cool: common nighthawk, ruby-crowned kinglet, snowy owl, great-horned owl, and black vulture. Of course, this ties with my record for additions in the last quarter (2012). Unless one travels, things slow way down.

So once again, I present the list in its entirety, because it sounds pretty: white-breasted nuthatch, American goldfinch, black-capped chickadee, mourning dove, downy woodpecker, house sparrow, mallard, American crow, dark-eyed junco, tufted titmouse, Canada goose, red-tailed hawk, house finch, blue jay, northern cardinal, European starling, hairy woodpecker, wild turkey, rock dove, American tree sparrow, northern harrier, common raven, red-bellied woodpecker, common merganser, belted kingfisher, ring-necked pheasant, pileated woodpecker, ring-necked duck, tufted duck, bufflehead, redhead, canvasback, greater scaup, lesser scaup, bald eagle, common goldeneye, white-winged scoter, herring gull, great black-backed gull, black duck, eastern bluebird, American robin, purple finch, red-winged blackbird, song sparrow, killdeer, cedar waxwing, turkey vulture, pine siskin, ruffed grouse, hooded merganser, common grackle, painted bunting, Cooper’s hawk, American kestrel, eastern phoebe, wood duck, chipping sparrow, double-crested cormorant, eastern meadowlark, white-throated sparrow, tree swallow, rose-breasted grosbeak, eastern towhee, Wilson’s snipe, warbling vireo, yellow warbler, golden-winged warbler, northern flicker, yellow-bellied sapsucker, barred owl, yellow-throated vireo, gray catbird, common yellowthroat, house wren, eastern kingbird, indigo bunting, ruby-throated hummingbird, hermit thrush, chimney swift, bobolink, spotted sandpiper, Baltimore oriole, common loon, osprey, American woodcock, ovenbird, veery, solitary sandpiper, wood thrush, American redstart, blue-winged warbler, scarlet tanager, great-crested flycatcher, chestnut-sided warbler, barn swallow, eastern wood-pewee, red-eyed vireo, brown thrasher, field sparrow, broad-winged hawk, northern mockingbird, great blue heron, fish crow, snow goose, Carolina wren, Louisiana waterthrush, black-and-white warbler, green heron, red-breasted nuthatch, yellow-rumped warbler, brown creeper, merlin, great-tailed grackle, common nighthawk, ruby-crowned kinglet, snowy owl, great-horned owl, black vulture. (118 species. 2015: 125. 2014: 118. 2013: 173. 2012: 115.)

I could do better if I’d just learn my gulls and sparrows already.

Comments»

1. Mali - January 2, 2017

118 species you can identify and name. That’s impressive. And yes, the list sounds pretty. I’m hoping to add to my list next year … with a puffin. Having said that, I expect I’ve doomed myself to failure.

And I probably say this every year, but come visit me, and add kereru, kaka, and tui to your list.

indigobunting - January 4, 2017

Yay, puffins! I would love to add those NZ birds to my list—but it would be its own list, as the American count has specific rules about that stuff! (Oddly, I don’t have a life list per se.)

2. Helen - January 5, 2017

On my way back from a family Thanksgiving in Nova Scotia this year, I spent four nights on Grand Manan Island in the hopes of spotting a puffin. Apparently this plan was doomed from the start, as once I got there I learned that a) the puffins don’t actually hang out on Grand Manan Island, but instead can be found on a little island a little ways away from Grand Manan, and b) it was the wrong time of year for puffin sightings even if they were to hang out on Grand Manan, as they can only be found on said little island during the nesting/hatching season, which only lasts about 4-5 weeks in July/August (so they don’t actually “hang out” per se on said little island either). [I may have already mentioned all this in another comment, in which case I apologize for going on and on about this.] But, when I got out of the car one morning to go into a little gift shop on Grand Manan to purchase a puffin-themed souvenir, there was a squat little black and white bird with a largish red beak on the road. A puffin, i thought excitedly. Then it took off, instead of hanging out so that an independent observer could verify the sighting (So like a puffin!, I thought). I ran into the gift shop in great excitement to tell the person in there about my puffin sighting, only to be told that there was no way it was a puffin, given that a) puffins don’t hang out on Grand Manan and b) even if they did, it was not “hanging out” season. But I’m sure that person was just a puffin naysayer, and that it was in fact a puffin. So my yearly summation contains one entry only: puffin (followed by five exclamation points).

indigobunting - January 6, 2017

Helen: I believe you. I was lucky enough to hang out with a FLOCK of puffins in the Shetland Islands after being told that they were “probably gone by now.” Plus, a few years ago, Tim and I saw an eastern meadowlark in maybe JANUARY hanging with a bunch of robins. It seemed impossible, but it was one bird who must have missed the migration boat. We mentioned it to other birders that day and they were pretty patronizing about it because there was no way we could have seen that bird then. We know what we saw. And, for the record, it’s way easier to tell a puffin. Because PUFFIN!!!!!

P.S. In 365: http://44for365.blogspot.com/search?q=puffin

Mali - January 6, 2017

Helen, that’s fantastic! Puffins may not hang out on Grand Manan, but clearly, they visit.

(PS. Your comments always remind me why we miss you.)

PPS. Both you and IB are giving me hope!

indigobunting - January 7, 2017

YOU WILL SEE PUFFINS.


Leave a Reply

