jump to navigation

Puffins January 11, 2017

Posted by indigobunting in Uncategorized.
trackback

For Mali and Helen

In comments to my Quarterly Report and Summation, Mali and Helen reminded me of puffins and a 365 entry from ten years ago about a day almost twenty years ago, which was one of the best days of my whole life.

265/365 Rita of the Shetland Islands

directed us to that northernmost point: drive, park, a 90-minute hike. There we might see the puffin colony, but it was probably too late. It wasn’t. They frolicked within feet of us. Back at the car we devoured the tea she’d lovingly, knowingly packed.

Here are a few of the many photos from that day (31 July 1997).

puffin1

puffin2

puffin3

puffin4

Comments»

1. Mali - January 11, 2017

Oh wow. That’s fantastic! They’re adorable, and remind me of one of my favourite birds from South Africa, the bird I called the “unfinished bird” because it looked like a work in progress. Puffins look like a cartoon bird.

Also, you went to the Shetland Islands? That’s cool.

indigobunting - January 12, 2017

Mali, we did, which meant giving up the Hebrides, but I’ve never regretted it. It was fantastic.

indigobunting - January 13, 2017

Also, now I want to know the name of the unfinished bird.

Mali - January 20, 2017

It was a hornbill – red-billed I think.

2. Helen - January 12, 2017

Thank you Indigo! I have now added “Shetland Islands” to my “to go before I die” list.

indigobunting - January 13, 2017

I better get on my list. Time is running out!

3. indigobunting - January 23, 2017

Mali, that is beautiful bird!

4. Dona - January 29, 2017

I love puffins. Saw them once off Nova Scotia and once on Skelig Michael in Ireland.

Dona - January 29, 2017

Skellig, rather.


Leave a Reply

