jump to navigation

277/2017 March 8, 2017

Posted by indigobunting in Uncategorized.
trackback

I haven’t forgotten about getting rid of 2017 things in 2017. But I’m not making a lot of progress. In fact, too many new things have come into my house since the first of the year.

Getting rid of 2017 items means disposing of an average of 5.5 items per day. Today is the sixty-seventh day of the year, which means if I were on schedule, I would have gotten rid of 368.5 items.

I count 277, which puts me nearly 100 behind. Today.

Things I am not counting: regular in-and-out trash and recycling related to food items and mail, with two exceptions: catalogs and magazines. I put these in my get-rid-of count because they fall into the category of hesitation and saving—I set them aside, sometimes for months, and then I do a major purge. The most recent purge counts for about half of the total, so it’s obvious that I am not spending enough time on this.

So far I’ve gotten ridden of things by:

  • throwing them out
  • recycling them
  • passing them along to friends
  • taking them to a consignment shop
  • donating them to the thrift store

The consignment shop things, if they don’t sell, could find their way back.

So much stuff. So much someone-can-use-this-can’t-they stuff.

Comments»

1. Mali - March 9, 2017

Holy cow, 277 things already? I’m pretty impressed by that. It’s absolutely what I need to do in my office but haven’t yet.

2. Helen - March 9, 2017

I can’t imagine putting such a purge into action, but let me state unequivocally and vocally how much I LOVE THIS IDEA!!!

3. Dona - March 10, 2017

That’s a lofty goal!


Leave a Reply

