jump to navigation

Shoot May 27, 2009

Posted by indigobunting in Uncategorized.
trackback

As some of you may recall, I have shot a gun only once—that is, a pellet gun many times on one occasion. Guns do not play an immediate role in my life and, unless something drastically changes, aren’t likely to. That said, I do believe in the right to keep and bear arms. And I believe in gun control. I don’t find these concepts mutually exclusive, and I suspect I’m not alone in that.

But this isn’t a what-I-think-about-guns post. This is more of a WTF post.

My friend Joe called me last week. He said that one evening his phone rang, and his caller ID read NRA.

Would I ever pick up on that call? No.

Joe, however (whose views I consider to be generally to the right of mine), thought, “This’ll be good,” and decides to engage.

Female Voice: I’m calling from the NRA. May I ask: when was the last time you went out shooting?
Joe: Pretty much never.
FV: So you don’t care about people’s rights?

Just try to wrap your head around that logic. It’s enough to make your brain explode.

It’s precisely that depth of intellect that makes me think Do not let this chick near a firearm.

Comments»

1. Craig (Maito Sewa Yoleme) - May 27, 2009

I think I might play with her head. “Shooting? You mean, shooting up? I do that pretty much every day. Are you calling to sell me some heroin at a discount?”

“No, sir, I mean target shooting. With a gun.”

“OH, sorry. I really don’t care for shooting at targets. No real sport there. I much prefer shooting at neighborhood cats and dogs. And kids too, if they play on my lawn. Say, can the NRA help me do anything about neighbors who play their music too loudly?”

2. Mali - May 27, 2009

If the NRA ever calls you, forward the call to Craig.

3. Adam Byrn Tritt - May 27, 2009

My goodness.
When I read:
Joe: Pretty much never.
FV: So you don’t care about people’s rights?

I had to take leave of my computer for fear of laughing spittle on it.

Certainly a new high in fallacious argumentation. As a matter of fact, maybe being high can answer the question of how that argument was arrived at.

4. Eulalia (Lali) Benejam Cobb - May 27, 2009

Wait! Maybe it was a hoax? (I say hopefully, knowing that in fact it wasn’t.)

5. bridgett - May 28, 2009

Just speechless. It can’t be that the US has more stupid people per capita than other countries. It must be that we just allow them more air time.

6. helen - May 28, 2009

I so like Craig’s idea. But truly, this is kind of scary. But maybe she accidentally skipped a page in the call centre’s script?

7. indigobunting - May 29, 2009

Bridgett: You may be on to something. I hope you’re on to something. I think.


Leave a Reply

