jump to navigation

Music 2016 December 23, 2016

Posted by indigobunting in Uncategorized.
trackback

I don’t mean to brag, but in 2016 I went to see Mavis Staples, Dave Grisman and Del McCoury, MorganEve Swain, Pink Martini, Richard Julian and Rosita Kess, Lake Street Dive, the Horse Flies, Samite, CeeLo Green, Clara Baker, Trombone Shorty, Dayna Kurtz and Robert Mache, Jack Williams, Ruby Amanfu, David Bromberg Quintet, Elvis Costello and the Imposters, Crack the Sky, Upstate Rubdown, and Handel’s Messiah.

Maybe I do mean to brag. Well, maybe not brag, exactly, but just note How lucky am I?

Seven of those events were house concerts, which are amazing experiences, and if you ever have a chance to go to or host one, you should.

It was my Christmas wish last year for less stuff/more music, and I clearly got my wish.

All of these concerts were so good that I can’t possibly pick a favorite experience, but a definite highlight was walking past a venue in Annapolis, seeing who was playing there that night, realizing that it was a band I’d worshipped in my formative years but had never seen, finding out there was one ticket left, and buying it (abandoning everyone I was with, with their understanding blessings). I had the time of my life and left with an autographed guitar pick.

The biggest disappointment was Chris Isaak’s tour cancellation (pneumonia), especially because I had scored front-row seats. If he ever comes back to these parts, I hope he gives me a heads up and even insists that I sit front and center.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

