jump to navigation

My Lodge, Myself April 12, 2009

Posted by indigobunting in Uncategorized.
trackback

I heard the news two weeks ago (oh boy) from our friend Tim. I had been putting off trying to find out myself, because . . . well, because I figured I’d hear something when I heard it. But I also needed to start getting aggressive about it, what with it being March already, June just around the corner in Adult Time.

Our beloved lodge, our annual vacation place for twenty-two summers, will in fact be placed in private hands. Last August was truly the last visit.

We had signed up for two weeks again, one in June and one in August, just in case it didn’t sell and the owner operated it as a B&B. But even as I did that, I wasn’t sure I could handle another bittersweet stay, the long goodbye. Some time back it became clear that (my) Tim wouldn’t be able to make the June dates anyway, but I was holding onto them just in case, with the plan of trying to get someone else to go with me.

So oddly, there was a bit of relief (mixed with the sadness) in hearing from friend Tim. It’s over, I thought. It’s really over. Now I can think about other possibilities.

Truth be told, I have yet to hear the news from the horse’s mouth (the owner), which surprises me. But friend Tim quietly forwarded her e-mail to some of us. It explains that they signed a long-term lease with a Canadian family who will buy the lodge in the near future (who live, incredibly, two blocks away from where the original 1920s owner lived). The family will use it as a private residence and will not run it as a business. The property is under strict environmental and preservation covenants.

Friend Tim noted that he and Valerie were probably too busy to try to find another place in the Adirondacks this year, although many of us would love to reunite there. John and Virginia are spending a week at another camp on the lake, where they have stayed before with friends—a nice place, but with a completely different feel and the usual hard-to-get-into-ness. Rosemarie, Bill, and William will spend their usual two weeks in Mary Lou’s more modern house (the late wife of the late owner), which is just off the lodge property and has lake access. Again, a very different feel from our lodge (but nothing feels like our lodge). Maybe someday one of those options could work for me.

I’m not quite ready to make a plan. I still feel newly widowed. I need to use this time to visit family and friends. In these economic times, I wonder if I’ll be able to afford even that.

I need to be still for awhile and listen for the calls of other places. And I need to enjoy being right where I am.

Comments»

1. waxwing - April 12, 2009

Oh, IB, I’m so sorry to hear this. I hope you find a new and wonderful place to visit.

If you do visit friends & family in the DC area this year, give me a heads up and we’ll do something fun.

2. Helen - April 12, 2009

Bloody tradition-breaking Canadians. That is sad, all those connections at least temporarily severed. My condolences.

3. indigobunting - April 12, 2009

Waxwing: Will do!

Helen: Of course, it was a bloody tradition-starting Canadian as well. I guess we’ll just have to continue a love/hate relationship with you northern neighbors!

4. Mali - April 12, 2009

You’ll have to do something completely different this year then. NZ’s nice at any time of the year. Hint.

5. Bridgett - April 14, 2009

Oh. I have a similar location, and it will break my heart when the owners decide they’re done renting it out. I’m sorry!

6. Eulalia (Lali) Benejam Cobb - April 14, 2009

At the risk of sounding sententious, I have to give you the quote from Colette that occurred to me when I was reading your post: “You only truly possess something when you give it up.”

That said, I know how much you and Tim loved that place, and I’m truly sorry about how things turned out.

7. indigo bunting - April 14, 2009

Lali: Seriously, I need guidance as to what to read of Colette, having never read her. I would very much like to. That said, I’m looking forward to Wodehouse night!

Mali: Hmmmmmmmmmm.

Bridgett: Yes, it will. And I will mourn with you. But may that day not come for a long, long time.


Leave a Reply

